Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello, first post here! Anyway, I've been using Linux on and off for about 3 years (mostly off however). I was thinking about switching my main machine to linux only ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

To make the plunge?

Hello, first post here!

Anyway, I've been using Linux on and off for about 3 years (mostly off however). I was thinking about switching my main machine to linux only and was wondering what kinds of problems I will have and was hoping you could help me. First I'll give the specs of my computer.

1.21 GHz AMD processor
    256mb DDR Ram
    80Gb HD/ 40Gb HD
    Radeon 9000
    Plextor CD RW
    "Generic" DVD RW
    ADMtek 10/100 network card
    SoundBlaster sound card
    WinTV capture card

One of the main things I'm concearned about is being able to do most of the things I normally do on Windows on Linux. The reason I want to switch to linux is:
    1. I'm tired of windows
    2. I like program in the linux enviornment better
    3. I've lost my copy of Windows XP pro and don't want to drop the money to pick up another copy
    4. Something new to do

The things that I regulary do on Windows are:
    1. Surf the web (obviously not a problem on Linux)
    2. IM with Trillian (I believe there is a Trillian port to Linux, correct?)
    3. Program C/C++/Java/PHP (I know C/C++/Java are no problem on linux, but what about PHP?)
    4. Watch TV with the WinTV card (Will this work? Its very important to me since this is my only tv at college and I'm a tv-aholic)
    5. Console gaming. As I said I have no other tv, and I've heard hooking up a console to the capture card is possible.. or at least on windows, will it work the same on linux?
    6. iTunes - This was another big question I had.. am I screwed with my iPod? I don't use it to download music, but I need a way to organize/ transfer my mp3s.
    7. Burning DVDs/CDs