Find the answer to your Linux question:
hey all! well i'm an almost complete beginner when it comes to linux of pretty much any type (other than a few liveCDs) but i've come up with a challenge ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

new to lunix, have a project, will ask questions

hey all!

well i'm an almost complete beginner when it comes to linux of pretty much any type (other than a few liveCDs) but i've come up with a challenge / project that'll hopefully resolve this.

basically what i'm going to try is to build a centralized event log monitoring system to pull all the logs from the windows servers on our network using linux and only free software. this may be expanded later on to cover IDS, but lets not get ahead of ourselves just yet!

as far as i can see, i'm going to have to break the project down into these sections:
    find and install an OS
    find some way of pulling event logs of a win2k server
    look into database storage - i'm thinking mySQL or similar
    develop the reporting and alerting side.

as i'm starting from fresh i could do with as many suggestions / comments as possible really, but my first questions are:

has this been done before?
    what flavor of linux would you recommend for this kind of project?
    how demanding on the hardware do you think this would be? i've got a few soon to be retired ex-NT4 desktops that i'm thinking of using
    have i bitten off more than i can chew? lol

Cheers, all.

Tim.

Just Joined!
    Unfortunately, I'm such a Linux newbie that I can't really help you in your endeavor, but I am curious as to why you'd want to monitor all your Windows server logs/event with a Linux box other than to simply see if it can be done?

It would take just a few minutes to set up a custom MMC on any Windows box to view events from any Windows server. This isn't a Windows forum, though, so I'll leave that topic alone lest I be thrown into firey brimstone.

-- Matt