Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hello all, today I am proud to say, I am making the move. Finally taking back what Windows has taken from me. I have used Redhat, Suse, Slackware, and Mandrake ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Making the move from Windows XP to Fedora Core 4

Hello all,
    today I am proud to say, I am making the move. Finally taking back what Windows has taken from me. I have used Redhat, Suse, Slackware, and Mandrake before, but only for an hour or two at a time, at a friends house. The only thing that I have noticed that will seem hard to learn, is the installation of software. Looks like I have to compile it with a compiler, and I am a complete noob to Linux application compiling. What all is involved, and is there anything I should know before beginning my transition? Thanks in advance.

Linux User

Re: Making the move from Windows XP to Fedora Core 4

Quote Originally Posted by malith
    Hello all,
    today I am proud to say, I am making the move.
    good choice, although i am afraid i am unable to help because the only installation i am familiar with is one that booted from the CD. maybe this is the case with Fedora?

Compiling is just one of the options. Installing new programs (and upgrading them) is done differently by diferent distros. In my opinion, one of the best is apt-get which is what Debian (and all Debian based distros) uses. The easiest for a new user is probably Suse (though Fedora is probably similar, I have not tried it). It has a tool known as YAST (Yet Another Setup Tool).

You ask what you should know before your transition? Hmm... as I just saw Revenge of the Sith last night, I'll quote Yoda (though this is from Empire strikes back):

"You must unlearn what you have learned."
    Stumbling around the 'net:
    www.cloudyuseful.com

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Linux User
    Quote Originally Posted by psic