Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 27
YES! It works! Thanks....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    12

    YES! It works! Thanks.

  2. #12
    Linux User George Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Pepperland
    Posts
    445
    Looks like you figured it out, but this always works for me:
    Code:
    apt-get install x-window-system
    Just for further reference. Afterwards you can install whatever you want; KDE, Gnome, Fluxbox, xfce, etc.
    Registered Linux user #393103

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    12
    Do I have to exit KDE in order to install applications or can I install it from the desktop?

  4. #14
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    I don't see that you need to exit KDE, but anyway I'd just do the apt-get in Ctrl+alt+F1 - which leaves KDE free for me to work
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  5. #15
    Linux Guru Flatline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,204
    You should be able to install apps from within KDE; you can either open up konsole (or any of the other terminals available) and use apt-get "raw" or you can
    Code:
    apt-get install synaptic
    to put synaptic on your system. Synaptic is a graphical front end for apt-get that allows you to search through available packages and look at which packages are installed, etc.
    There are two major products that come out of Berkeley: LSD and UNIX. We don't believe this to be a coincidence.

    - Jeremy S. Anderson

  6. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    12
    How to I get back to KDE after Ctrl + alt + F1? Typing startx will not get me back.

  7. #17
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    You can get back with Ctrl+alt+F7
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  8. #18
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    12
    Code:
    apt-get install synaptic
    gives me this error message
    Code:
    Couldn't find package synaptic

  9. #19
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    Quote Originally Posted by powder
    Code:
    apt-get install synaptic
    gives me this error message
    Code:
    Couldn't find package synaptic
    you don't need synaptic to install with apt-get, just
    Code:
    apt-get install kde
    and it should install
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  10. #20
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    12
    I already install KDE. I am trying to install synaptic on the desktop.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •