Find the answer to your Linux question:
Okay, so i have been using the different m$ os's for a while now back since the dos days and Linux has for a while been something I wanted to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Total, and I mean total newbie wants to get started :)

Okay, so i have been using the different m$ os's for a while now back since the dos days and Linux has for a while been something I wanted to try but never got around to. I have a fair bit of free time on my hands now so it seems an ideal time to have a crack at it. That said I have a few questions I am hoping you kind folks could help me with. Please forgive me If these have been asked before but I tried the search function and had no luck.

I should explain this is for my second PC. I use my main PC for watching movies, playing games and word processing/spreadsheets. My second PC is used for web browsing, web based email, instant messaging via MSN and downloading on azureus.

So onto my questions.

1) The PC has 3 physical hard drives, partitioned into NTFS Partitions, and from what ive read this could be a problem I think. I have no problem with formatting the C Partition which currently holds windows (is around 20 gigs in size) but the others are full of files i would rather keep. Is it possible to read AND write to NTFS drives using Linux or is it read only?

2) What distro should I choose to begin with? Bear in mind I have a moderate level of IT skill I suppose, I am comfortable messing around with and editing files etc and would like a version which would help me learn rather than one - as i have heard some do these days - which does everything for me, whilst at the same time not being too daunting for a beginner (tall order perhaps?)

That will do for now Though doubtless I will be back here soon pestering you for some help about something Thanks in advance anyone taking the time to read this and/or respond

Linux Newbie