Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
how do i find out what scsi device my ipod is on?? cat /proc/scsi/scsi Attached devices: Host: scsi0 Channel: 00 Id: 00 Lun: 00 Vendor: Genesys Model: USB to IDE ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    23

    what scsi device ?


    how do i find out what scsi device my ipod is on??

    cat /proc/scsi/scsi
    Attached devices:
    Host: scsi0 Channel: 00 Id: 00 Lun: 00
    Vendor: Genesys Model: USB to IDE Disk Rev: 0002
    Type: Direct-Access ANSI SCSI revision: 02
    Host: scsi25 Channel: 00 Id: 00 Lun: 00
    Vendor: HP Model: PSC 2355 Rev: 1.00
    Type: Direct-Access ANSI SCSI revision: 02
    Host: scsi36 Channel: 00 Id: 00 Lun: 00
    Vendor: Apple Model: iPod Rev: 1.62
    Type: Direct-Access ANSI SCSI revision: 02

    36? what /dev/sd? is that gonna be for me to mount?

    using suse9.2 btw

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie ihayhurst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    138
    I've not got one but I would hazard a wild guess... would lead me to type dmesg just after connecting, it should be shown there
    Registerd Linux user #119296

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    23
    gave me a hell of a lot of buffer I/O errors and stuff, too much to paste the whole lot

    e.g
    end_request: I/O error, dev sdc, sector 0
    Buffer I/O error on device sdc, logical block 0
    end_request: I/O error, dev sdc, sector 0
    Buffer I/O error on device sdc, logical block 0
    Buffer I/O error on device sdc, logical block 1
    Buffer I/O error on device sdc, logical block 2
    Buffer I/O error on device sdc, logical block 3
    Buffer I/O error on device sdc, log

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie ihayhurst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    138
    could well be sdc

    or /dev/sdc1 (assuming it has one partition)
    Registerd Linux user #119296

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    23
    i added sdc1 to my /etc/fstab and when tried to mount i just get
    mount: /dev/sdc1: can't read superblock

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer LondoJowo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Richmond, TX
    Posts
    804
    Maybe you should try using Gtkpod, here's the rpm for 9.2

    http://packman.links2linux.org/index...ction=320&vn=3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •