Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi im new to linux and to forums really... i want to know... for convention ...where do i put all the programas that i install from tar.gz or any other.... ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

File structure

Hi im new to linux and to forums really... i want to know... for convention ...where do i put all the programas that i install from tar.gz or any other.... i had put them in usr/.. is that right?? what is the opt/ directory for??...

Anything that you're gonna compile, just put in a spare directory. For example, I keep my source in ~/source/. When you run "make install", it will move the binaries to where they need to be.

For a full-blown explanation of the Unix filesystem:

http://www.pathname.com/fhs/pub/fhs-2.3.html

Just Joined!
    thanks man.... what about those programs that not install... for example i "installed " Eclipse 3.1 ... and by installing it i mean just uncompressing the file into a folder and then i have the program.... where should i put that folder???..anywhere it works... but where a linux pro would put it.. sorry for the english.... jeje.. i'm from Venezuela there could be some mistakes...

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Banned
    Quote Originally Posted by carlo81
    thanks man.... what about those programs that not install... for example i "installed " Eclipse 3.1 ... and by installing it i mean just uncompressing the file into a folder and then i have the program.... where should i put that folder???..anywhere it works... but where a linux pro would put it.. sorry for the english.... jeje.. i'm from Venezuela there could be some mistakes...
    As long as it seems organized to you, it's all good(in UNIX-like systems, this doesn't matter).
    I personally place a lot under /opt or /usr...

Cuando quieres instalar un programa nuevo de fuente, haces estos:

Code:
    ./configure
    make
    make install