Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 64
So I have 3...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Engineer cheetahman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,130

    So I have 3
    \"TTFN Taa Taa For Now\" by Tigger in Winnie the Pooh
    http://www.distrowatch.com Linux Distros
    We Live in a Windows World but there is Linux to save the day

  2. #12
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,429
    No you have four I suppose? You were talking about linux swap right? To create extended & logical partitions you need a primary partition to contain it.

    The hda5 resides in hda4. Until hda4 partitions can be primary. 5 or higher are logical partitions.
    ** Registered Linux User # 393717 and proud of it ** Check out www.zenwalk.org
    ** Zenwalk 2.8 - Xfce 4.4 beta 2- 2.6.17.6 kernel = Slack on steroids! **

  3. #13
    Linux Engineer cheetahman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,130
    Extended Contains 1 Logical Drive in it which is Fedora Core 4
    \"TTFN Taa Taa For Now\" by Tigger in Winnie the Pooh
    http://www.distrowatch.com Linux Distros
    We Live in a Windows World but there is Linux to save the day

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Linux Engineer cheetahman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,130
    Quote Originally Posted by borromini
    No you have four I suppose? You were talking about linux swap right? To create extended & logical partitions you need a primary partition to contain it.
    Yes Linux Swap
    \"TTFN Taa Taa For Now\" by Tigger in Winnie the Pooh
    http://www.distrowatch.com Linux Distros
    We Live in a Windows World but there is Linux to save the day

  6. #15
    Linux Engineer cheetahman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,130
    So extended is Primary
    \"TTFN Taa Taa For Now\" by Tigger in Winnie the Pooh
    http://www.distrowatch.com Linux Distros
    We Live in a Windows World but there is Linux to save the day

  7. #16
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,429
    Yep. Usually everything up to hda4 is primary, anything from 5 to ... is logical.
    ** Registered Linux User # 393717 and proud of it ** Check out www.zenwalk.org
    ** Zenwalk 2.8 - Xfce 4.4 beta 2- 2.6.17.6 kernel = Slack on steroids! **

  8. #17
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    forums.gentoo.org
    Posts
    1,817
    Quote Originally Posted by cheetahman
    Do Extended or Swap count as Primary
    Not considering LVM, there are 3 kinds of partitions: Primary, Extended and Logical. A physical drive can have either:
    * no more than 4 Primary partitions
    or
    * no more than 3 Primary partitions and one Extended partition.
    You cannot write data to an Extended partition. An Extended partition is only a container for Logical partitions. An Extended partition can have a bunch of Logical partitions.

    Swap space is just another filesystem, like ext2, vfat, ntfs.... Like any other filesystem, swap space can occupy either a Primary partition or a Logical partition.
    /IMHO
    //got nothin'
    ///this use to look better

  9. #18
    Linux Engineer cheetahman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,130
    Quote Originally Posted by cheetahman
    Number/Partition/Type/Size
    01 /dev/hda1 Fat16 31.35MB Primary Partition
    02 /dev/hda2 NTFS 24.94GB Primary Partition
    03 /dev/hda3 ext3 101.97MB Linux Swap
    04 /dev/hda4 extended 2.87GB
    05 /dev/hda5 unknown 2.87GB
    This computer is dual booting I am trying to do a Triboot which would include Windows XP,SuSE Linux 9.3 and Fedora Core 4.

    hda1 is Fat16 and boots up the computer and contains the bios and Grub
    hda2 NTFS is Windows Xp
    hda3 is Linux Swap
    hda4 is extended which contains hda5 which is lvm and is Fedora Core 4


    Linux Swap doesn't Count as Primary
    \"TTFN Taa Taa For Now\" by Tigger in Winnie the Pooh
    http://www.distrowatch.com Linux Distros
    We Live in a Windows World but there is Linux to save the day

  10. #19
    Linux Engineer cheetahman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,130
    Quote Originally Posted by borromini
    Yep. Usually everything up to hda4 is primary, anything from 5 to ... is logical.
    hda4 is extended and contains hd5 and how about Linux Swap as its outside Extended and is between Windows Xp and the Extended
    \"TTFN Taa Taa For Now\" by Tigger in Winnie the Pooh
    http://www.distrowatch.com Linux Distros
    We Live in a Windows World but there is Linux to save the day

  11. #20
    Linux Engineer cheetahman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,130
    Windows says swap is primary
    \"TTFN Taa Taa For Now\" by Tigger in Winnie the Pooh
    http://www.distrowatch.com Linux Distros
    We Live in a Windows World but there is Linux to save the day

Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •