Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hy Me and my friends have a network and a server wich gives us net.The problem is that only the ip 1.0.0.2 can login using putty on it.I have the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Server problem!!

Hy

Me and my friends have a network and a server wich gives us net.The problem is that only the ip 1.0.0.2 can login using putty on it.I have the root accoung but my ip is 1.0.0.23 and i dont want every time i want to login to server to change the ip to 1.0.0.2.If i try to login with putty with my ip (1.0.0.23) i just get time out.

What must i do so i can login from 1.0.0.23 to the server?I realy need help.

Thank you!

Just Joined!
    check your hosts.allow and hosts.deny files, there must be something in there blocking you out except for that one ip

Luma

Just Joined!
    Sry for asking but i am a newb , where are those files located??

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Linux Guru
    Quote Originally Posted by darksun
    Sry for asking but i am a newb , where are those files located??
    In the /etc/ directory:
    • /etc/hosts.allow
      /etc/hosts.deny

Code:
    find / -name hosts.*
    /IMHO
    //got nothin'
    ///this use to look better

Just Joined!
    Ok found the files and typed "pico host.allow and the file is emty.Sry for asking but what do i do 2 modif them?

Just Joined!
    There are 3 files:

Host.allow -> pico shows it empty
    host.deny -> pico shows it emty
    host.conf wich 2 lines of text but no ip 1.0.0.2 ( i think i should see the ip that is allow on the file i need 2 modif)!

Any ideas?

Linux Guru
    Quote Originally Posted by luma
    check your hosts.allow and hosts.deny files, there must be something in there blocking you out except for that one ip
    Quote Originally Posted by $ man hosts.allow
    ACCESS CONTROL FILES
    The access control software consults two files. The search stops at the