Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
i have an intell prescott 3.2 Ghz (540) running on a 915i chipset. can I use linux that is designed for i386 processors? or do i have to find an ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    34

    i386 question


    i have an intell prescott 3.2 Ghz (540) running on a 915i chipset. can I use linux that is designed for i386 processors? or do i have to find an X86 one cause fedora has i386 and X86_64 so umm can i use i386?

  2. #2
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    352
    i386 should be fine.

  3. #3
    Linux User St. Joe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    271

    Re: i386 question

    Quote Originally Posted by bite_me333
    i have an intell prescott 3.2 Ghz (540) running on a 915i chipset. can I use linux that is designed for i386 processors? or do i have to find an X86 one cause fedora has i386 and X86_64 so umm can i use i386?
    This command will tell you all you need to know:

    # uname -a

    Here's my output:
    # uname -a
    Linux linux 2.6.12-gentoo-r6 #1 SMP Sun Jul 17 22:48:32 CDT 2005 i686 AMD Athlon(tm) XP 3200+ AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux

    See the bit that says 'i686'?
    That tells me that my system will run an i686 kernel.

    Any x86 system can run the i386 so that choice will always work.
    Since I have an Athlon chip I can also use a K7 kernel.

    Stay away from the X86_64 arch unless your proc is 64 bit.
    It may be that your sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    34
    i curently run suse 9.2 i586 and i did the thing you said and i got
    i686 i686 i386 so that means i686 is best right?

    thanx for the help though

  5. #5
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    In case you're confused about what i386/486/586 means:

    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/topic-47022.html
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  6. #6
    Just Joined! bobkat357's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Dallas TX
    Posts
    76
    it should work fine my prosser is a old Amd althon it takes FC3 just fine I have been learng my bash shell programing from here but mostly from the redhat site and a bud yum helps a lot its like a totor for me

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    34
    yah i got fedora core 4 i386 and i wanna know where and how to get yum does it come with it cause i installed everything?

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Roxoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    3,879
    Quote Originally Posted by bite_me333
    yah i got fedora core 4 i386 and i wanna know where and how to get yum does it come with it cause i installed everything?
    It shoulld already be on your system, from a root command prompt, do:

    Code:
    yum upgrade
    or if there is a lot and you want to do it a bit at a time:

    Code:
    yum list updates
    yum upgrade <package1> <package2> ... <packageN>
    and repeat until the list is empty.
    Linux user #126863 - see http://linuxcounter.net/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •