Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
Ok I got the blue screen of death on windows, and now have gone into suse 9.1 pro. I am still trying to get used to it. I cant install ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    55

    Trying to switch


    Ok I got the blue screen of death on windows, and now have gone into suse 9.1 pro. I am still trying to get used to it. I cant install anything unless its a .rpm. Any advice on how to install the other files? Because I need it. Also, I tried installing limewire but it always gives me the message that I dont have java runtime enviorment when I do. Its upto date and everything. I go it straight frmo suse update. Help there please. Also if anyone has anything that makes the switch easier that is free, please direct me in that way.

    ~thanks
    ~~Metalsux

  2. #2
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    Have a look at this tutorial on installing: http://www.linuxforums.org/tutorials...ial-19957.html
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    55
    Thanks, but when I try to copy files into that directory I get that I cant access that folder. Any help?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    in the console use the substitute user command to switch to root (it's like admin in windows) with
    Code:
     su -
    [rootpass]
    commands
    (replace commands with whatever the commands are) but also remember that you can unpack a tared up file where ever you want, and it will still install, so if you unpack it in /home/username you can still install it
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  6. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    168
    Are you logged in as root?

    It sounds like you don't have permission on that folder.

    Jeff
    Registered Linux User #391940

  7. #6
    Linux Engineer LondoJowo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Richmond, TX
    Posts
    804
    Quote Originally Posted by metalsux
    Thanks, but when I try to copy files into that directory I get that I cant access that folder. Any help?
    You have to using a terminal as root. If you're using Konsole just type the following and enter, then enter your root password, enter again.
    Code:
    su
    Dell Precision T7400 Workstation
    Dual 3.33Ghz Xeon "Harpertown" Core
    16GB PC5300 DDR2 ECC CL5
    BFG GeForce GTX 285 OC 2GB
    X-Fi Platinum
    HP w2408 24" Monitor
    Dual Boot:openSUSE 11.2/Win 7 Ultimate

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    55
    Ya but this is outside terminal. I think thats why. I did the super user already for that. How do I log in as root?

  9. #8
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    You do
    Code:
    su -
    in the terminal, it is a high security risc to login to teh gui as root.
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    55
    I still get access denied? Im trying to move the aim package by right clicking then move to then I go to the usr/local/src and it says access deneied. Any help?

    Thanks

  11. #10
    Linux Engineer LondoJowo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Richmond, TX
    Posts
    804
    Quote Originally Posted by metalsux
    I still get access denied? Im trying to move the aim package by right clicking then move to then I go to the usr/local/src and it says access deneied. Any help?

    Thanks
    Why are you trying to use AIM in SuSE, install GAIM (it's on the installation disk) and set it up.
    Dell Precision T7400 Workstation
    Dual 3.33Ghz Xeon "Harpertown" Core
    16GB PC5300 DDR2 ECC CL5
    BFG GeForce GTX 285 OC 2GB
    X-Fi Platinum
    HP w2408 24" Monitor
    Dual Boot:openSUSE 11.2/Win 7 Ultimate

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •