Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
How do I go about setting up jobs for crontab to perform? In this case, I want to set it up to run 'updatedb' every morning at 3 am. I've ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Peterborough, UK
    Posts
    379

    Crontab


    How do I go about setting up jobs for crontab to perform? In this case, I want to set it up to run 'updatedb' every morning at 3 am. I've searched around a bit but couldn't find anything particularly helpful.

    Thanks in advance,
    Dan
    \"I am, after all,\" said Pooh, \"a bear of very little brain.\"
    MY PC: Athlon XP64 3000+ on a Asus K8V-X mobo w/1GB of non-descript RAM. AGP - GeForce 2 MX400. PCI - Creative Live! 5.1 soundcard. 140 GB and 120 GB SATA WD drives.

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,429
    Code:
    $ man cron
    will tell you all you need to know
    ** Registered Linux User # 393717 and proud of it ** Check out www.zenwalk.org
    ** Zenwalk 2.8 - Xfce 4.4 beta 2- 2.6.17.6 kernel = Slack on steroids! **

  3. #3
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Peterborough, UK
    Posts
    379
    So should I put the 'updatedb' in root's crontab or is there a better place for it?
    \"I am, after all,\" said Pooh, \"a bear of very little brain.\"
    MY PC: Athlon XP64 3000+ on a Asus K8V-X mobo w/1GB of non-descript RAM. AGP - GeForce 2 MX400. PCI - Creative Live! 5.1 soundcard. 140 GB and 120 GB SATA WD drives.

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,429
    Yep. Make sure you put the full path. And read the manual!
    ** Registered Linux User # 393717 and proud of it ** Check out www.zenwalk.org
    ** Zenwalk 2.8 - Xfce 4.4 beta 2- 2.6.17.6 kernel = Slack on steroids! **

  5. #5
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Peterborough, UK
    Posts
    379
    I did! :P I just wasn't entirely sure whether I should put it in root's or if there was a special system one. Thanks for clearing that up!
    \"I am, after all,\" said Pooh, \"a bear of very little brain.\"
    MY PC: Athlon XP64 3000+ on a Asus K8V-X mobo w/1GB of non-descript RAM. AGP - GeForce 2 MX400. PCI - Creative Live! 5.1 soundcard. 140 GB and 120 GB SATA WD drives.

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,429
    No problemo
    ** Registered Linux User # 393717 and proud of it ** Check out www.zenwalk.org
    ** Zenwalk 2.8 - Xfce 4.4 beta 2- 2.6.17.6 kernel = Slack on steroids! **

  7. #7
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Chicago (USA)
    Posts
    1,028

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •