Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 30 of 30
Should Grub be GRUB and made distro 1 to be Prime Distro...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #21
    Linux Engineer cheetahman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,130

    Should Grub be GRUB and made distro 1 to be Prime Distro
    \"TTFN Taa Taa For Now\" by Tigger in Winnie the Pooh
    http://www.distrowatch.com Linux Distros
    We Live in a Windows World but there is Linux to save the day

  2. #22
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Quote Originally Posted by cheetahman
    Should Grub be GRUB and made distro 1 to be Prime Distro
    As for the Grub question, I am not sure what you are asking.
    Do you mean it should be Grub in all CAPS, or do you mean it should be grub and not Lilo.
    If you are talking about it being ALL CAPS, it doesn't make a dffference.
    If you are saying it should be Grub and not Lilo.
    Definitely Yes, as the configuration for Lilo is different than Grub.

    As for distro 1 being Prime distro, no. the Prime distro is where Grub will be accessed from. And distro 1 could be Windows. Windows can't be distro 2.
    Unless you want to tell people how to reinstall grub.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  3. #23
    Linux Engineer cheetahman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,130
    Quote Originally Posted by budman7
    Quote Originally Posted by cheetahman
    Should Grub be GRUB and made distro 1 to be Prime Distro
    As for the Grub question, I am not sure what you are asking.
    Do you mean it should be Grub in all CAPS, or do you mean it should be grub and not Lilo.
    If you are talking about it being ALL CAPS, it doesn't make a dffference.
    If you are saying it should be Grub and not Lilo.
    Definitely Yes, as the configuration for Lilo is different than Grub.

    As for distro 1 being Prime distro, no. the Prime distro is where Grub will be accessed from. And distro 1 could be Windows. Windows can't be distro 2.
    Unless you want to tell people how to reinstall grub.
    If it should be spelled Grub or GRUB and as for prime distro it means the distro you boot into the most and Distro 2 is in charge of the mbr and distro 3 is the extra one you add on
    \"TTFN Taa Taa For Now\" by Tigger in Winnie the Pooh
    http://www.distrowatch.com Linux Distros
    We Live in a Windows World but there is Linux to save the day

  4. #24
    Linux Engineer cheetahman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,130
    Big update on it and rewrote extended partition which is easier to understand
    \"TTFN Taa Taa For Now\" by Tigger in Winnie the Pooh
    http://www.distrowatch.com Linux Distros
    We Live in a Windows World but there is Linux to save the day

  5. #25
    Linux Enthusiast crashandburn0420's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Naugatuck, CT
    Posts
    590
    it seems pretty good, never partiononed different distros but ill probally use this if i do.

  6. #26
    Linux Engineer cheetahman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,130
    Thanks and do you have any improvements for it
    \"TTFN Taa Taa For Now\" by Tigger in Winnie the Pooh
    http://www.distrowatch.com Linux Distros
    We Live in a Windows World but there is Linux to save the day

  7. #27
    Linux Enthusiast crashandburn0420's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Naugatuck, CT
    Posts
    590
    to my experience (which is very little) it seems good. not much partioning experience.

  8. #28
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    34
    This looks great. I have one small question, is Linus like Windows where as you should make seperate partitions for your music/programs/games and whatnot? Or do you simply make one big partition for the whole distro. And a smaller partition for the swap.

  9. #29
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    You can do it either way.
    But if you make separate partitions for music, games and programs, you will have to make additional entries in your /etc/fstab for each partition.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  10. #30
    Linux Engineer cheetahman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,130
    Also its best to have a Fat32 drive so both can go to it
    \"TTFN Taa Taa For Now\" by Tigger in Winnie the Pooh
    http://www.distrowatch.com Linux Distros
    We Live in a Windows World but there is Linux to save the day

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •