Find the answer to your Linux question:
Over the past couple of weeks, I have tried installing both Mandriva and Fedora Core 4, and ran into problems with both. My ethernet card wouldn't work in Mandriva and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

SUSE is great

Over the past couple of weeks, I have tried installing both Mandriva and Fedora Core 4, and ran into problems with both. My ethernet card wouldn't work in Mandriva and Fedora wouldn't even get the bootloader installed correctly. Finally, I decided to try SUSE and the installation was a total breeze. I didn't have any trouble whatsoever. I've been around computers for quite a while, but I am a total newbie when it comes to Linux and I highly recommend SUSE for people who are just starting out with Linux. All I have to do now is get my soundcard configured and I'll be set.

Glad you found one that works for you. That's perhaps the one task most arduous for those new to Linux.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

Always nice to see a happy user. I agree, by the way. In the beginning, I was really attracted to SuSE because it felt easy to install and use.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Linux Enthusiast
    I have been using Linux for about 6 months now, just chose me distro, after 5 months on slack it took me to realise that it was the best for me

Suse is great for newbies. As I like to believe, with Suse you could probably plug your toaster in and Suse would do something with it . Wait, that task has been taken on by the NetBSD team already...

Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

Re: SUSE is great

Quote Originally Posted by i2kdave