Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
I feel like a total newb, but google didnt turn up anything. How can I tell my uptime? I tried 'uptime' and 'w' but they returned my uptime in minutes, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    62

    Major Newb Question UPTIME


    I feel like a total newb, but google didnt turn up anything. How can I tell my uptime?

    I tried 'uptime' and 'w' but they returned my uptime in minutes, and I have been up for over twelve hours.

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast deltaflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    577
    you could try typin top in a console

    e.g.
    Code:
    top
    there are other ways but thats what i use (easy to remember )
    andy
    SLOMO: acer extensa 5235 2.2ghz,2gb ram 160gb hdd wireless
    SPEEDY: homebrew desktop,Amd x2 dualcore,2gb ram,500gb +1tb( 2x500gb) hdd suse 11.3,32mb fibreline
    registered linux user #401845

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    62
    Thanks, thats a good one. But my uptime is still displayed in minutes and I have been up for hours.

  4. #4
    Linux Enthusiast deltaflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    577
    have you rebooted at all? if so, it will only show time from the reboot

    andy
    SLOMO: acer extensa 5235 2.2ghz,2gb ram 160gb hdd wireless
    SPEEDY: homebrew desktop,Amd x2 dualcore,2gb ram,500gb +1tb( 2x500gb) hdd suse 11.3,32mb fibreline
    registered linux user #401845

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    62
    I have not. Plus it reads about 15 mins. I would of remebered if I did.

    Heres what it reads:
    Code:
    00:20:40 up 12:18,  2 users,  load average: 0.31, 0.23, 0.27

  6. #6
    Linux Guru smolloy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    CA, but from N.Ireland
    Posts
    2,414
    Looks like you've been running for 12hours 18mins, and you entered the command at 20mins and 40secs past midnight to me.
    Registered Linux user #388328 || Registered LFS user #15880
    AMD 64 X2 4600+ :: 2X1GB DDR2 800 :: GeForce 9400 GT 512MB :: ASUS M2N32 Deluxe :: 4X250GB SATAII
    Need instant help? Try us on IRC -- #linuxforums on freenode

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    62
    BAH! I told you I am a newb. I was getting them mixed up. Sorry for bein such a newb!

  8. #8
    Linux Guru smolloy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    CA, but from N.Ireland
    Posts
    2,414
    Quote Originally Posted by LoafOfBread34
    BAH! I told you I am a newb. I was getting them mixed up. Sorry for bein such a newb!
    Don't worry about it
    Code:
    man uptime
    man top
    Those will give you lots more info about the commands.
    Registered Linux user #388328 || Registered LFS user #15880
    AMD 64 X2 4600+ :: 2X1GB DDR2 800 :: GeForce 9400 GT 512MB :: ASUS M2N32 Deluxe :: 4X250GB SATAII
    Need instant help? Try us on IRC -- #linuxforums on freenode

  9. #9
    Linux Newbie beachboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Rockford, MI 49341
    Posts
    125
    Quote Originally Posted by deltaflyer
    you could try typin top in a console

    e.g.
    Code:
    top
    there are other ways but thats what i use (easy to remember )
    andy
    Thank You I like that one a lot better.
    <advertising NOT allowed in signatures>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •