Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
I have had some trouble with my grub and fstab after makeing more space from D to Linux. The grub problems are now fixed but im haveing some problems with ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    2

    problems mounting hda1 after grub error


    I have had some trouble with my grub
    and fstab after makeing more space from D to Linux.

    The grub problems are now fixed but im haveing some problems with my fstab
    and mounting dev/hda1 my windows c dir.
    When mounting fstab I get this error:
    root@chris:~# sudo mount -a
    mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/hda1,
    missing codepage or other error
    In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try
    dmesg | tail or so
    and here is the dmesg | tail
    root@chris:~# dmesg | tail
    [4295587.173000] NTFS-fs error (device hda7): ntfs_ucstonls(): Unicode name co ntains characters that cannot be converted to character set cp437.
    [4295675.297000] NTFS-fs error (device hda1): read_ntfs_boot_sector(): Primary boot sector is invalid.
    [4295675.298000] NTFS-fs error (device hda1): read_ntfs_boot_sector(): Mount o ption errors=recover not used. Aborting without trying to recover.
    [4295675.298000] NTFS-fs error (device hda1): ntfs_fill_super(): Not an NTFS v olume.
    [4295695.183000] NTFS-fs error (device hda1): read_ntfs_boot_sector(): Primary boot sector is invalid.
    [4295695.183000] NTFS-fs error (device hda1): read_ntfs_boot_sector(): Mount o ption errors=recover not used. Aborting without trying to recover.
    [4295695.183000] NTFS-fs error (device hda1): ntfs_fill_super(): Not an NTFS v olume.
    [4295727.189000] NTFS-fs error (device hda1): read_ntfs_boot_sector(): Primary boot sector is invalid.
    [4295727.189000] NTFS-fs error (device hda1): read_ntfs_boot_sector(): Mount o ption errors=recover not used. Aborting without trying to recover.
    [4295727.189000] NTFS-fs error (device hda1): ntfs_fill_super(): Not an NTFS v olume.
    here is my fstab file:
    # /etc/fstab: static file system information.
    #
    # <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
    proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
    /dev/hda5 / ext3 defaults 0 1
    /dev/hda1 /media/hda1 ntfs defaults 0 0
    /dev/hda7 /media/hda7 ntfs defaults 0 0
    /dev/hda6 none swap sw 0 0
    /dev/hdc /media/cdrom0 udf,iso9660 user,noauto 0 0
    and here is my fdisk:
    root@chris:~# sudo fdisk -l

    Disk /dev/hda: 120.0 GB, 120034123776 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 14593 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/hda1 * 1 3696 29688088+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/hda2 3697 14593 87530152+ 5 Extended
    /dev/hda5 3697 6307 20972822+ 83 Linux
    /dev/hda6 6308 6361 433723+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/hda7 6362 14593 66123508+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
    root@chris:~#
    I dont know how this is happened, but something tells me that the partition has been formated.
    But then again nothing has been written over it.
    So is it possible to get the media back trough linux (unformat)

    Or is it just me who is doing something wrong, and its just a littlebit of pressing this and that and Im able to mount my nfts partition again?

  2. #2
    Linux User Stefann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Boise, ID
    Posts
    340

    Re: problems mounting hda1 after grub error

    Quote Originally Posted by syklitengutt
    I have had some trouble with my grub
    and fstab after makeing more space from D to Linux.

    The grub problems are now fixed but im haveing some problems with my fstab
    and mounting dev/hda1 my windows c dir.
    When mounting fstab I get this error:
    root@chris:~# sudo mount -a
    mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/hda1,
    missing codepage or other error
    In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try
    dmesg | tail or so
    and here is the dmesg | tail
    root@chris:~# dmesg | tail
    [4295587.173000] NTFS-fs error (device hda7): ntfs_ucstonls(): Unicode name co ntains characters that cannot be converted to character set cp437.
    [4295675.297000] NTFS-fs error (device hda1): read_ntfs_boot_sector(): Primary boot sector is invalid.
    [4295675.298000] NTFS-fs error (device hda1): read_ntfs_boot_sector(): Mount o ption errors=recover not used. Aborting without trying to recover.
    [4295675.298000] NTFS-fs error (device hda1): ntfs_fill_super(): Not an NTFS v olume.
    [4295695.183000] NTFS-fs error (device hda1): read_ntfs_boot_sector(): Primary boot sector is invalid.
    [4295695.183000] NTFS-fs error (device hda1): read_ntfs_boot_sector(): Mount o ption errors=recover not used. Aborting without trying to recover.
    [4295695.183000] NTFS-fs error (device hda1): ntfs_fill_super(): Not an NTFS v olume.
    [4295727.189000] NTFS-fs error (device hda1): read_ntfs_boot_sector(): Primary boot sector is invalid.
    [4295727.189000] NTFS-fs error (device hda1): read_ntfs_boot_sector(): Mount o ption errors=recover not used. Aborting without trying to recover.
    [4295727.189000] NTFS-fs error (device hda1): ntfs_fill_super(): Not an NTFS v olume.
    here is my fstab file:
    # /etc/fstab: static file system information.
    #
    # <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
    proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
    /dev/hda5 / ext3 defaults 0 1
    /dev/hda1 /media/hda1 ntfs defaults 0 0
    /dev/hda7 /media/hda7 ntfs defaults 0 0
    /dev/hda6 none swap sw 0 0
    /dev/hdc /media/cdrom0 udf,iso9660 user,noauto 0 0
    and here is my fdisk:
    root@chris:~# sudo fdisk -l

    Disk /dev/hda: 120.0 GB, 120034123776 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 14593 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/hda1 * 1 3696 29688088+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/hda2 3697 14593 87530152+ 5 Extended
    /dev/hda5 3697 6307 20972822+ 83 Linux
    /dev/hda6 6308 6361 433723+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/hda7 6362 14593 66123508+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
    root@chris:~#
    I dont know how this is happened, but something tells me that the partition has been formated.
    But then again nothing has been written over it.
    So is it possible to get the media back trough linux (unformat)

    Or is it just me who is doing something wrong, and its just a littlebit of pressing this and that and Im able to mount my nfts partition again?
    Does Windows boot???
    Nothing is worse than ten penguins fighting over which is better, vi or emacs.
    Registered Linux User #404402
    Finally I'm back on LF after a long while.

  3. #3
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    forums.gentoo.org
    Posts
    1,817

    Re: problems mounting hda1 after grub error

    Quote Originally Posted by Stefann
    Does Windows boot???
    Good question. If there is a problem booting the normal way from the Grub menu, you can try this:
    As soon as the Grub menu comes up, press an up/down arrow key to stop the default boot timer. Then press "c" for command line: 'grub>'. Then enter the following:
    grub> root (hd0,0)
    grub> chainloader +1
    grub> boot

    That should get Windows on hda1 if that is your boot device.
    /IMHO
    //got nothin'
    ///this use to look better

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    2
    ive tried that.
    It seems like the boot has been formated, since ubuntu cant find any
    filesystem on the disk.

    How that has happened, I dont know, but is it any linux prog that will make it
    possible to unformat the disk? I know it is multiply programs for that in windows, but is it a good one for linux.

    Because if the disk has been formated, it have to have been a quick format,
    and nothing new is written tho the disk, it is possible to bring backk most of the disk.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    80
    From the postings it seems likely that the method used to gain space was the culprit. Sometimes it is possible to recover - what tool(s) were used and under what OS?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •