Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
Hi, I was trying to install Fedora for one of my box and always crash. It always get error message that there is a problem with video card etcccccccccccccccccccccc I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    5

    Linux installation help for newbie


    Hi,

    I was trying to install Fedora for one of my box and always crash. It always get error message that there is a problem with video card etcccccccccccccccccccccc

    I have succesffully installed Linux on other box, now Now, I am trying to install XP for this box, but it gives error when I boox with XP. It says
    operating system error, How do I forma and install XP in this box.

    Any help is appreciated.

    thanks

  2. #2
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    254
    Should always install windows first. Now u need to format all ur disks. Reinstall windows and then linux by resizing the windows part.
    It always get error message that there is a problem with video card etcccccccccccccccccccccc
    It could be a good idea if u want us to help u to give us the model of ur video card and the precise error message u got

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    5
    Hi,

    How do I format since I am getting error message when I try to boot from windows XP?.

    thanks
    mokkan

  4. #4
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    254
    Quote Originally Posted by mokkan
    Hi,

    How do I format since I am getting error message when I try to boot from windows XP?.

    thanks
    mokkan
    If I understood what u said u want to reinstall coz windows wont boot so take ur windows install cd boot on it and install it: it will format ur drive and so on...

  5. #5
    Linux Guru Cabhan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    3,252
    Um...

    To put things a bit clearer...

    Find your Windows XP Install Disc. In the installation, it will ask you about partitioning. Delete all existing partitions, and you will be left with a chunk of "Free Space". Select that space, and the Windows install will format it for you.

    Okie dokie?

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    1

    new and looking for a good OS

    hi all im a graphic disginer and looking to go in to linuxs and im asking what is the linuxs for me i work in a TV comp and all thay have is crapy winblows and when i started looking i faund 30000 linux V's to pic from and knowing my job i dont have time to experamnt so i will need the help of the ppl that know all that is you so what kinda linux do you think is good for a graphic guy and can work sum VIDS too i know im asking in a stuped way but i do need help (and sorry to you guys but i am a male :P ) and all the ppl i know that work on a linux systims are from the data departmint and thay think im looking for there jobs but all i like to have is a good strong systim that will not crash every bloody frame and crap on my work thats all and thanks from me and the ppl that live next door that know i will kill them next week :P bye

    khalid najjar
    jordan

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    5
    Hi,

    Thank you for your help. It doesn't even boot from windows XP CD. It just says operating system error. How do I get intot the prompt where I can format my drive.

    Any help?

    thanks

  8. #8
    Linux User Tommaso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    292
    There are two possible reasons that this is happining. It may be that you have a bad Win XP disk, but more likley, the problem in in your BIOS. When your computer boots, enter BIOS (usually F2 or delete) and check the boot order. Chances are that your comptuter is booting off of your hard drive before it tries to boot off of the cd. This would explain your OS error.

  9. #9
    Linux Enthusiast puntmuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Republic Banana
    Posts
    562
    Does your bootsequence in your BIOS has the CD drive as first boot device ? If not change it.
    If that is not a solution your CD device could be broken. Replace it to see if that one boots. If you have more then 1 device capable of reading cd's in your system you could change the BIOS to boot from the other CD device if that is supported.
    I\'m so tired .....
    #200472

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    5
    thank you for your reply. It is prompting to enter anykey to boot from
    CD and then when I click it doesn't load from CD, it just go to blank page.

    Any help?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •