Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 29
Originally Posted by Cabhan Right. You don't want to type a colon first. Just press Esc then type those characters. Code: gg -- Go to first line ma -- Make ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    234

    Quote Originally Posted by Cabhan
    Right. You don't want to type a colon first. Just press Esc then type those characters.
    Code:
    gg  --  Go to first line
    ma  --  Make a mark called "a"
    G   --  Go to the last line
    y'a  --  Yank (copy) everything from the current location (last line) to mark a (which is on the first line)
    But i cant paste it to other programming tool after yanked??
    Proper Planing is a way of success

  2. #12
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    234
    Quote Originally Posted by smolloy
    Here's a link for you. CLICK HERE

    I know it's for vi, but as has been said before, anything that works for vi will work for vim. You need to spend some time using vim before it makes sense, but just keep trying. There are millions of help documents out there. Google is the key.
    thks for the url
    Proper Planing is a way of success

  3. #13
    Linux Guru Cabhan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    3,252
    To copy it into something else, you'll need to highlight it with the mouse and copy it manually into another application.

    Oftentimes, you can just highlight the text and use middle-click to paste it somewhere. You might also highlight it, right-click, select copy, etc.

    Okie dokie?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    234
    Quote Originally Posted by Cabhan
    To copy it into something else, you'll need to highlight it with the mouse and copy it manually into another application.

    Oftentimes, you can just highlight the text and use middle-click to paste it somewhere. You might also highlight it, right-click, select copy, etc.

    Okie dokie?
    yap, but now what i do is i highligh partial and copy part by part into the document and can't highlight at entire long document using command?
    Proper Planing is a way of success

  6. #15
    Linux Newbie daacosta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Medellín, Colombia
    Posts
    213
    What is it exactly that you are trying to do? Can you share the output or code?
    -D-

    Registered User # 402675

  7. #16
    Linux Guru smolloy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    CA, but from N.Ireland
    Posts
    2,414
    I think he's trying to copy an entire document that is too large to fit on one page, and paste the text into a different application.

    I suppose that, depending on what he's trying to paste it into, he could use > to send the entire document to the new file. That might work for him?
    Registered Linux user #388328 || Registered LFS user #15880
    AMD 64 X2 4600+ :: 2X1GB DDR2 800 :: GeForce 9400 GT 512MB :: ASUS M2N32 Deluxe :: 4X250GB SATAII
    Need instant help? Try us on IRC -- #linuxforums on freenode

  8. #17
    Linux Guru Cabhan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    3,252
    There is that, but what about copying into, say, an OpenOffice document?

    Unfortunately, I don't think you can do this through vi.

    You could write the file in vi and then open it in something like gedit (Gnome) or kate (KDE) and copy-paste from there, though.

  9. #18
    Linux Guru smolloy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    CA, but from N.Ireland
    Posts
    2,414
    Quote Originally Posted by Cabhan
    There is that, but what about copying into, say, an OpenOffice document?
    Can openoffice not open plain text files?

    Quote Originally Posted by Cabhan
    You could write the file in vi and then open it in something like gedit (Gnome) or kate (KDE) and copy-paste from there, though.
    I think this is what he needs to do. But I guess we really need to wait til he replies!
    Registered Linux user #388328 || Registered LFS user #15880
    AMD 64 X2 4600+ :: 2X1GB DDR2 800 :: GeForce 9400 GT 512MB :: ASUS M2N32 Deluxe :: 4X250GB SATAII
    Need instant help? Try us on IRC -- #linuxforums on freenode

  10. #19
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    234
    Quote Originally Posted by smolloy
    I think he's trying to copy an entire document that is too large to fit on one page, and paste the text into a different application.

    I suppose that, depending on what he's trying to paste it into, he could use > to send the entire document to the new file. That might work for him?
    yes, i would like to do so
    Proper Planing is a way of success

  11. #20
    Linux Guru smolloy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    CA, but from N.Ireland
    Posts
    2,414
    But which application would you like to paste it to?? And why??
    Registered Linux user #388328 || Registered LFS user #15880
    AMD 64 X2 4600+ :: 2X1GB DDR2 800 :: GeForce 9400 GT 512MB :: ASUS M2N32 Deluxe :: 4X250GB SATAII
    Need instant help? Try us on IRC -- #linuxforums on freenode

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •