Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
hi, is there any way to make vista work with linx cos i cant seem to get fedora core4 or any linux distro work woth vista....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Nth Richmond, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    37

    vista and linux


    hi,

    is there any way to make vista work with linx cos i cant seem to get fedora core4 or any linux distro work woth vista.

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    947
    why do you have vista already...
    also do you mean dual boot?

  3. #3
    Linux User Game master pro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Tasmania, australia
    Posts
    274
    What! Vista is out already

    /me runs out to the shop to buy it

    ...
    ...
    ahaha
    You can't keep a straight face while saying that :P

    And i don't get your question, explain more please

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    947
    Quote Originally Posted by Game master pro
    What! Vista is out already

    /me runs out to the shop to buy it

    ...
    ...
    ahaha
    You can't keep a straight face while saying that :P

    And i don't get your question, explain more please
    makes me think he is part of some illigal activity



    as for the question i think it is auto not recognising it when it insalle cause it is too new, you will need to manually configure it

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    18
    Through the college I work at, we get to test Vista, and you can make it dual boot, just install Vista first, then install your linux distro. I'm not comfortable enough with linux to install vista after having linux up and running.

    I do know that Vista and Suse 10 do allow for a dual boot, as that is what we had set up here at the office before Vista crashed.

    --adam

  7. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    ATL!
    Posts
    117
    Quote Originally Posted by nutznboltz2003
    I do know that Vista and Suse 10 do allow for a dual boot, as that is what we had set up here at the office before Vista crashed.
    --adam
    Vista crashes? You don't say!!!

    I've never gotten windows installed alongside linux either, I hear it's a lot easier if you install linux alongside windows. But where are you getting vista from already?
    Cause the whole world loves it when you don\'t get down.
    And the whole world loves it when you make that sound.

  8. #7
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by afroguy013
    I've never gotten windows installed alongside linux either, I hear it's a lot easier if you install linux alongside windows. But where are you getting vista from already?
    It's in Beta testing. I played with Beta 1 a few months ago. MSDN members have it, mostly. As with any other MS Windows, it's best to install Windows first, then Linux. Most Linuxes have no trouble in that respect.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by techieMoe
    MSDN members have it, mostly
    MSDN is how we get it, and I believe TechNet subscribers have it as well.

    Over all, it's actually pretty stable, the crash was caused by me purposely trying to use some archaic Win 3.1 software that one of our science labs still uses to configure some lab equipment. The software crashed xp, so I figured it would crash Vista as well, and it sure did

    ***edit***
    Back to the original question at hand, yes, you can run Vista and Linux, but you probably should install Vista first.

    What were you trying to get Vista and Linux to do? Run dual-boot? See the hard drives of each other? Co-exist on a network?

    Any clarification would really help.

    --adam

  10. #9
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    Back to the Original Question, can you clarify?

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Nth Richmond, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    37
    no i didnt get illeagily, i have the vista beta but i havent tryed it with SuSE 10 cos i only have SuSE 9.5 (or some 9.x verson), i was trying to dual boot, i cant exactly rember the error that i got, i might have to get that this weekend.

    and just so you know vista is pretty stable but then again i didnt do any gaming on it or anything like that.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •