Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
hi all i would like to copy file aa.class from /apache/htdocs/lotus/bin/main to /apache/htdocs/lotus/main how to do that?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    234

    copy file question


    hi all
    i would like to copy file aa.class from /apache/htdocs/lotus/bin/main to /apache/htdocs/lotus/main

    how to do that?
    Proper Planing is a way of success

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast deltaflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    577
    as previously stated google is your friend, try here

    http://www.tuxfiles.org/linuxhelp/fileman.html

    andy
    SLOMO: acer extensa 5235 2.2ghz,2gb ram 160gb hdd wireless
    SPEEDY: homebrew desktop,Amd x2 dualcore,2gb ram,500gb +1tb( 2x500gb) hdd suse 11.3,32mb fibreline
    registered linux user #401845

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    234
    Quote Originally Posted by deltaflyer
    as previously stated google is your friend, try here

    http://www.tuxfiles.org/linuxhelp/fileman.html

    andy
    ya, i know that is perform by using the cp command the problem is that i have so many sub sub sub directories

    i use this command
    Code:
     cp /apache/htdocs/lotus/bin/main /apache/htdocs/lotus/main
    dont know why it does not copy
    Proper Planing is a way of success

  4. #4
    Linux Guru smolloy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    CA, but from N.Ireland
    Posts
    2,414
    That means you want to copy the folder and all folders beneath it recursively.
    Code:
    man cp
    Look for recursively in there, and it will tell you how to do it.
    Registered Linux user #388328 || Registered LFS user #15880
    AMD 64 X2 4600+ :: 2X1GB DDR2 800 :: GeForce 9400 GT 512MB :: ASUS M2N32 Deluxe :: 4X250GB SATAII
    Need instant help? Try us on IRC -- #linuxforums on freenode

  5. #5
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    254
    Lo
    I told u in another post howto cp recursively u should look more carefully and read the man a little before posting. If u don't know whatis man type:
    Code:
    man man

  6. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    234
    Quote Originally Posted by Gnux
    Lo
    I told u in another post howto cp recursively u should look more carefully and read the man a little before posting. If u don't know whatis man type:
    Code:
    man man
    we talk abt the cp command in another post?
    Proper Planing is a way of success

  7. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    947
    if you are using bash you dont need to type the whole dir path
    just do like
    Code:
    cd /va [HIT TAB NOW]
    and it will go to /var
    etc

  8. #8
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    234
    Quote Originally Posted by the_guy_dressed_in_black
    if you are using bash you dont need to type the whole dir path
    just do like
    Code:
    cd /va [HIT TAB NOW]
    and it will go to /var
    etc
    this is a very good feature in Linux
    Proper Planing is a way of success

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    947
    Quote Originally Posted by thcc2
    Quote Originally Posted by the_guy_dressed_in_black
    if you are using bash you dont need to type the whole dir path
    just do like
    Code:
    cd /va [HIT TAB NOW]
    and it will go to /var
    etc
    this is a very good feature in Linux
    isnt really linux, just bash
    other shells like korn arnt so lucky

  10. #10
    Super Moderator Roxoff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    3,890
    Quote Originally Posted by thcc2
    this is a very good feature in Linux
    You can do it in windows too. It's very similar, but not identical - and you have to jump through registry hoops on some XP installs to turn it on.
    Linux user #126863 - see http://linuxcounter.net/

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •