Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi Everyone! I am a newbie to Linux. Background : I installed Debian Linux in a partition in my PC (Pentium 2 400 mhz). It is working well but I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Newbie Question - problem installing package

Hi Everyone!

I am a newbie to Linux.

Background : I installed Debian Linux in a partition in my PC (Pentium 2 400 mhz). It is working well but I face some problems while installing packages.

For example : I am trying to install libqt3-dev. It has lot of dependant packages. When I use aptitude and choose libqt3-dev to be installed, aptitude resolves dependencies and selects all packages OK. But when I run the install, it aborts with following messages.....

Retrieving bug reports... 0% [0/21] W: getaddrinfo: Temporary failure in name resolution: xlibmesa-gl-dev
    W: getaddrinfo: Temporary failure in name resolution: libxrandr-dev
    W: getaddrinfo: Temporary failure in name resolution: liblcms1-dev
    W: getaddrinfo: Temporary failure in name resolution: libqt3-compat-headers
    W: getaddrinfo: Temporary failure in name resolution: libxmu-dev
    W: getaddrinfo: Temporary failure in name resolution: libice-dev
    ... E: Too many errors while retrieving bug reports
    E: Sub-process if dpkg -s apt-listbugs | grep -q '^Status: .* ok installed'; then /usr/sbin/apt-listbugs apt || ( test $? -ne 10 || exit 10; echo 'Warning: apt-listbugs exited abnormally, hit enter key to continue.' 1>&2 ; read a < /dev/tty ); fi returned an error code (10)
    E: Failure running script if dpkg -s apt-listbugs | grep -q '^Status: .* ok installed'; then /usr/sbin/apt-listbugs apt || ( test $? -ne 10 || exit 10; echo 'Warning: apt-listbugs exited abnormally, hit enter key to continue.' 1>&2 ; read a < /dev/tty ); fi
    Ack! Something bad happened while installing packages. Tryin

UNQOUTE