Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I am a beginner on Linux, and being a Windows user all my life, I want to try an alternate OS. Seing as though I have never used Linux, and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

The Best Graphics-Based OS

I am a beginner on Linux, and being a Windows user all my life, I want to try an alternate OS. Seing as though I have never used Linux, and the multitude of versions, what is in your opinion, the best graphics based OS I should install?

oz
    forum.guy
    Hi there, DC, and welcome to the board.

When you say "OS", if you mean distributions, I don't think any of them are based on graphics. They all have a base installation that allows one to boot into text mode, and all the graphic stuff is really considered add-ons. Some distros would probably be considered loaded with graphics features, though.

Not sure, but maybe I've misunderstood your post.

kbk
    I think he just means one of the distros that uses graphics more than others. Such as Fedora is mostly text based, and others like KNOPPIX or Ubuntu are more graphical. As for a reccomendation I would reccomend KNOPPIX or Ubuntu for a more graphical distro. Or you could do some research on distrowatch.com and see if there is anything there that sounds appealing.

Just Joined!
    Hello there, DC.

I've been a Windows user all my life as well, and started using Linux OS now just recently.

The first distro I tried was FC4 (fedora.redhat.com). It has a easy, graphical install and also it mounts you're partitions automatically. Allover I'd say that the FC4 install is even easier than installing Windows XP.

So if you're looking for something easy and userfriendly than FC4 is the way to go.

kbk