Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hello, I have an AMD 350 with 64 megs of ram. I was hoping to setup a linux box, and host my website from it. So, I was hoping to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Which Distro?

Hello, I have an AMD 350 with 64 megs of ram. I was hoping to setup a linux box, and host my website from it. So, I was hoping to run linux, a webserver, and maybe a file server. I downloaded suse 10, and later found out there's no way I can run this distro (ie. i'd need a much bigger system with more ram). I was told that linux can run on older systems with not a whole lot of ram, which is what led me down this path.
    So, is there a distro. that will fit my system, and my (wish list) requirments?
    I'd appreciate any opinions, as I am brand new to linux but very eager to learn.
    thank you...
    Todd

Banned
    Quote Originally Posted by Todd Harvey
    Hello, I have an AMD 350 with 64 megs of ram. I was hoping to setup a linux box, and host my website from it. So, I was hoping to run linux, a webserver, and maybe a file server. I downloaded suse 10, and later found out there's no way I can run this distro (ie. i'd need a much bigger system with more ram). I was told that linux can run on older systems with not a whole lot of ram, which is what led me down this path.
    I'd appreciate any opinions, as I am brand new to linux but very eager to learn.
    thank you...
    Todd
    Most distros do run on that hardware. It's just that most of them come with very fancy GUIs for desktop use. For a web server you don't need all that. Just don't install X.

Linux Enthusiast
    maybe Damn Small Linux? You may not be able to use X (the GUI) if you want to run Linux smoothly on little RAM.

Just Joined!
    thank you...
    Todd
    Hi Todd Harvey:

You shoul check www.distrowatch.com

I just like fedora so I will recommend fedora.

Just Joined!