Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
....with Suze and/or Mandriva distros in my hand and ready to go. I'll be completely honest - I'm scared I'll break my perfectly smooth running 3.4Ghz/1G ram/200G/40G twin hd system. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

TOTAL Newbie poised and ready.....

....with Suze and/or Mandriva distros in my hand and ready to go.

I'll be completely honest - I'm scared I'll break my perfectly smooth running 3.4Ghz/1G ram/200G/40G twin hd system.

I use my machine specifically for video editing and surfing. Will I still have access to my favourite programs to carry on with my work under Linux? Is the installation of Suze or Mandriva reversible if I don't like it?

Much appologies if this is beneath any of you to answer, but I'd really like to try something new and have been flirting with idea of Linux for years.
    Thanks

Paul

Just Joined!
    I urge you to come to the light side. You won't turn back Both Suse and Mandriva are excellent distros for beginners. I personally run Mandriva, and love it. The installation is completely painless and completely reversible. During installation, you will install a bootloader that allows you to choose which operating system to boot every time you turn on your computer, so you can toy with linux a bit, then work with windows. Then toy with linux a bit longer and back to windows. To uninstall linux, it's as simple as deleting the partitions and running fixmbr from your windows disc.
    Kevin

Quote Originally Posted by rossi46
    ....with Suze and/or Mandriva distros in my hand and ready to go.

I'll be completely honest - I'm scared I'll break my perfectly smooth running 3.4Ghz/1G ram/200G/40G twin hd system.