Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, im new to linux and have been trying to get the hang of it, i have been experiencing problems installing tar.gz files, and have been reading the tutorial, but ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Trouble with ./configure

Hi, im new to linux and have been trying to get the hang of it, i have been experiencing problems installing tar.gz files, and have been reading the tutorial, but when i get to "./configure" i get a message saying "bash: ./configure: No such file or directory". I follow all the previous steps and had no problem. I have checked on YAST and have gcc and make installed, but not all of them, is there any specific ones i need? please help.
    Also, how can i have full root privileges while logged in as my user account, or i have to login as root, and if so how do i do that?
    Thanks a lot

Linux Enthusiast
    Quote Originally Posted by khan
    Also, how can i have full root privileges while logged in as my user account, or i have to login as root, and if so how do i do that?
    In terminal, type:
    Code:
    su
    <your root password>
    That's it. You are root now.

Stick with it!

Hi!

In regards to being new to Linux, so am I, but stick with it, cause in the end it is worth it!

Only a couple of days ago I was asking the same questions, I recommend that you read all of my recent posts, It sounds as though your having the same problems as myself.

http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/t52...-plz-help.html

Hope this helps

EXWinUser

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!
    thanks, i checked them out but my issue is a lil different, i have also posted on the suse linux forum, but ur posts have other valuable info.

Quote Originally Posted by khan