Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
Just sayin' hi! I have installed RH 9.0 on an old PIII Compaq. I have all my HW running but just need to learn how to do some basic things ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    6

    New to Linux


    Just sayin' hi! I have installed RH 9.0 on an old PIII Compaq. I have all my HW running but just need to learn how to do some basic things such as make all the buttons work on my mouse and get the digital output on my SB Live! card working. I'm really enjoying working on this OS, it brings me back to when I was learning Microsquish dos....

    Eric

  2. #2
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    326
    Welcome to Linux,

    just a pointer. Redhat 9.0 is old. so old in fact that redhat doesn't even support it anymore. you may want to consider using a newer distribution you will have much better luck with hardware support on the more recent versions of Linux than the old..

    The Current free version of Redhat is Fedora Core 4 (redhat 9 was originally replaced with Fedora core 1 ) http://fedora.redhat.com/

    as for your mouse you may want to take a peek here: http://llg.cubic.org/docs/mouse.html


    Check out the alsa info for the card.. doesn't appear to have support for the Digital output at this time..
    http://opensource.creative.com/
    http://www.alsa-project.org/alsa-doc...ve_Labs#matrix
    far...out

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    111
    for the mouse this might help

    and like farslayer said, you might consider using a newer distribution.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    6
    I have FC4. I will give it a go!

    Eric

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    6
    OK,
    I installed (upgraded RH 9) FC4. I tried to run yum and got command not found. How do I install yum?

    Eric

  6. #6
    Just Joined! bonniehandi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    On earth
    Posts
    72
    You have to install yum first.

    You can get the rpm for yum from pretty much all the repositories.

  7. #7
    Just Joined! bonniehandi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    On earth
    Posts
    72
    Or you can follow this site:

    http://stanton-finley.net/fedora_cor...notes.html#Yum

    It teach you to set up yum and repositories. Please note that you should not be using the repositories indicated in this site if you are using livna.org.

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    6
    Well, after a disasterous install I wound up doing a fresh install of FC4. Much better! Yum is there and working!

    Thanks,

    Eric

  9. #9
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    326
    Glad to see you are making progress, how goes the quest to get all your mouse buttons working ?
    far...out

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by farslayer
    Glad to see you are making progress, how goes the quest to get all your mouse buttons working ?
    I gave up on the mouse. It is a cordeless cheap one, the batteries died so I switched to a corded usb. I will tackle the button in there near future....

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •