Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
hi all, Can i change my terminal's text or background color?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    234

    Terminal colour


    hi all,
    Can i change my terminal's text or background color?
    Proper Planing is a way of success

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    INDIA
    Posts
    41

    Terminal Color

    Hi,

    Yes Right Click on The Terminal and select the Profile.
    You can Change The color Setting from Profile.

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    home
    Posts
    796
    What terminal are you using? Most don't have a gui for it, but gnome-terminal and konsole do. If using another such as xterm, aterm, eterm, rxvt, or something, check the man page to see which option to use to specify colors.

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    234
    Quote Originally Posted by valan
    What terminal are you using? Most don't have a gui for it, but gnome-terminal and konsole do. If using another such as xterm, aterm, eterm, rxvt, or something, check the man page to see which option to use to specify colors.
    I can't change it because i'm not the root user.
    Proper Planing is a way of success

  5. #5
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,431
    Quote Originally Posted by thcc2
    I can't change it because i'm not the root user.
    Which terminal are you using? You don't need to be root.

  6. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    234
    Quote Originally Posted by jaboua
    Which terminal are you using? You don't need to be root.
    how to check the type of terninal?
    Proper Planing is a way of success

  7. #7
    Linux Guru Cabhan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    3,252
    What command are you executing in order to launch the terminal?

    For Gnome, the default is Gnome Terminal, for KDE, the default is Konsole.

    However, other options are Eterm, aterm, xterm, rvxt, etc.

  8. #8
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    234
    Quote Originally Posted by Cabhan
    What command are you executing in order to launch the terminal?

    For Gnome, the default is Gnome Terminal, for KDE, the default is Konsole.

    However, other options are Eterm, aterm, xterm, rvxt, etc.
    my one is the Gnome terminal, which only have the Default under the Profile.
    Proper Planing is a way of success

  9. #9
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Right click, and left click on "Edit current profile..."

    You can make it look like that.
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  10. #10
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    234
    Quote Originally Posted by antidrugue
    Right click, and left click on "Edit current profile..."

    You can make it look like that.
    thks u i got it already
    Proper Planing is a way of success

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •