Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
what is the port no for LDAP?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    234

    Ldap


    what is the port no for LDAP?
    Proper Planing is a way of success

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    INDIA
    Posts
    41

    Ldap

    HI,


    The Port Number Of LDAP is 389 TCP and 389 UDP

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    234
    Quote Originally Posted by devendra.meena
    HI,


    The Port Number Of LDAP is 389 TCP and 389 UDP
    hi,
    if the LDAP port number for Ms Exchange has been change, how can i change it back?
    Proper Planing is a way of success

  4. #4
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    326
    MS Exchange **shudder**
    http://support.microsoft.com/default...;en-us;Q224447

    Be very careful when changing things in Exchange it can get finicky and break for no good reason. If LDAP for exchnage WAS moved to a diffrerent port it was probably done for a good reason, (such as AD is running on that machine which also uses port 389 as cited in the example on the page I linked you ot)

    Why not just connect to Exchange on the port it's using ?
    far...out

  5. #5
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    369
    Quote Originally Posted by farslayer
    MS Exchange **shudder**
    http://support.microsoft.com/default...;en-us;Q224447

    Be very careful when changing things in Exchange it can get finicky and break for no good reason. If LDAP for exchnage WAS moved to a diffrerent port it was probably done for a good reason, (such as AD is running on that machine which also uses port 389 as cited in the example on the page I linked you ot)

    Why not just connect to Exchange on the port it's using ?
    ill second that....when settings get changed its about as stable as a child hoped on steroids
    All i want for christmas is a new liver....a second chance to get afflicted with Cirrhosis

  6. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    234
    Quote Originally Posted by farslayer
    MS Exchange **shudder**
    http://support.microsoft.com/default...;en-us;Q224447

    Be very careful when changing things in Exchange it can get finicky and break for no good reason. If LDAP for exchnage WAS moved to a diffrerent port it was probably done for a good reason, (such as AD is running on that machine which also uses port 389 as cited in the example on the page I linked you ot)

    Why not just connect to Exchange on the port it's using ?
    Thks for your reply, I'm troubleshooting the end-user's problem, because i'm worry that the non-IT people go and change the port no. So, i ask u all if it has been changed, how can i change it back?
    Proper Planing is a way of success

  7. #7
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    369
    Quote Originally Posted by thcc2
    Thks for your reply, I'm troubleshooting the end-user's problem, because i'm worry that the non-IT people go and change the port no. So, i ask u all if it has been changed, how can i change it back?
    if its on the standard ldap port...leave it be and physicaly protect the server better
    All i want for christmas is a new liver....a second chance to get afflicted with Cirrhosis

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •