Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi I am kind of new to Linux and these forums. I have a problem regarding g++ (gcc) utility. I was testing a simple hello world programme that compiles well ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

compiler problem

Hi I am kind of new to Linux and these forums. I have a problem regarding g++ (gcc) utility. I was testing a simple hello world programme that compiles well under windows (borland Cpp compiler) but not under Linux the compiler complains that iostream.h is depriciated and to use iostream instead I tried this option and programme dose not recognise cout here is my source code

#include <iostream.h>
    int main(int argc, char **argv)
    {
    cout << "Hello World";
    return 0;
    }

and I get the following error message

[wiraj@x1-6-00-09-6b-40-03-e7 Qt]$ g++ hello1.cpp
    In file included from /usr/lib/gcc/i586-mandrake-linux-gnu/3.4.1/../../../../include/c++/3.4.1/backward/iostream.h:31,
    from hello1.cpp:1:
    /usr/lib/gcc/i586-mandrake-linux-gnu/3.4.1/../../../../include/c++/3.4.1/backward/backward_warning.h:32:2: warning: #warning This file includes at least one deprecated or antiquated header. Please consider using one of the 32 headers found in section 17.4.1.2 of the C++ standard. Examples include substituting the <X> header for the <X.h> header for C++ includes, or <iostream> instead of the deprecated header <iostream.h>. To disable this warning use -Wno-deprecated.

A final note I am not sure if this is related or not but I have been having trouble compiling binaries downloaded as tar.gz files in my system. The make utility points me to some strange syntax errors in the code I am using gcc version 3.4.1 with mandrake 10.1

Hi - Read this.
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

Just Joined!