Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
I have all my media in other hdd than FC4. Is there any ability to access that files stored under NTFS ?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    28

    Any abilites?


    I have all my media in other hdd than FC4. Is there any ability to access that files stored under NTFS ?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    As long as you're simply reading and/or copying FROM the NTFS drive, you should be able to do that just fine. Where it gets complicated is if you want to write TO an NTFS partition from within MS Windows.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    28
    So how to access them? I not quite understand....

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Mount the harddrive like any other drive, just specify that it's an NTFS drive.

    Code:
    su <enter>
    Password: <enter your root password>
    cd /mnt/
    mkdir somedrive
    mount -t ntfs /dev/hdb somedrive
    In the above example, replace /dev/hdb with the name of your NTFS drive. Also you're free to change "somedrive" to whatever name you want. This is all done from a console window.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  6. #5
    Linux Guru Cabhan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    3,252
    You first need to enable NTFS read support in your kernel. The RPM can be found at:

    http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/l...2.1-1.i586.rpm


    Then techieMoe's intstructions will work.

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    28
    ok thx, I`ll try that.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    28
    How to execture the archyve ?? "

  9. #8
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by OSzONE
    How to execture the archyve ?? "
    Can you be more specific? Did the drive mount correctly? What are you trying to do?
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    28
    I tried to mount but it says: mount: unknown filesystem type 'ntfs'

  11. #10
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Quote Originally Posted by OSzONE
    I tried to mount but it says: mount: unknown filesystem type 'ntfs'
    Did you install the RPM that Cabhan linked to?
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •