Find the answer to your Linux question:
You probably see these types of posts a lot but ill try to make this worth your time. Im new to linux, which means im almost completly lost. I guess ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Red face Help! Im new!

You probably see these types of posts a lot but ill try to make this worth your time. Im new to linux, which means im almost completly lost. I guess i should start with the basics.
    Ive been reading some guides about linux and im a bit confused. I guess my first question is...What version of linux should i get? As ive seen, there are many versions, but how am i supposed to know which one to get?
    My second question is, after i chose which one i want, how exactly do i install linux. I read about doing some sort of a partition on my hard drive, but i dont really understand it. Ive also read about running it off of a cd-rom. Is that easier?

I guess ill stick with those as my first 2 questions for this forum. Please help, ill appreciate any form of help.

oz
    forum.guy
    Read up on some of the different distros at: http://www.distrowatch.com

Download the ISO images of a distro, or two and then burn them as "images" to your blank CDs, then install them and play around with them for a while and you'll soon get a feel for what you like.

To install a distro, put the CD in your cdrom with your computer BIOS set where you can boot from your cdrom when the computer is restarted. Hope that made sense.

Good distros that treat new users in a humane way would include Mandriva, Suse, Fedora, and Ubuntu. There are others, but those are the ones that come to mind.

Welcome to the forums!

As far as the partitioning thing, it requires a bit of a lesson: