Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, i'm new to linux and im planning on either installing Suse or Mandriva. I will be dual booting and just have a few questions. -When i install linux, will ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

partition and distro question

Hi, i'm new to linux and im planning on either installing Suse or Mandriva. I will be dual booting and just have a few questions.

-When i install linux, will the files show in windows under C: because i only have one partition? If so what can i do to make a second partition so it installs under it, because my C: doesnt show the full capacity of my hardrive, i'm missing 12 gb so i suppose i can create another somehow. I looked under "disk management" but there isnt anything.

-I know that Suse has an updater called "YaST" but what does Mandriva use to update?

If i don't seem to like the distro and want to remove it from my computer, what do i have to do?

Thank you

Welcome to the Forums!

1) You need to resize this one partition, so that you have space to create a Linux partition. In Windows, there is a program called PartitionMagic that can do this. In Linux (such as the Knoppix LiveCD), you might use the qtparted tool.

Note that before resizing the partition, you should backup important files and defragment the drive.

2) Mandriva uses a package manager called urpmi. I don't know if it has automatic updating the way that YaST does, but it certainly does work. For setting it up:

http://easyurpmi.zarb.org/

3) If you don't like the distro, you can simply wipe it out. This can be done with ANY partitioning tool, including the one on the Windows install disc.

If you want to remove Linux entirely, you will then need to restore your MBR so that your computer boots properly. This can be done by accessing a recovery console through the Windows Install Disc and executing the command:
    Code:
    fixmbr