Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm curious about Linux, but don't want to actually install it, so I thought that a Live CD would be the perfect answer. Wrong. Live CDs/DVDs do not work on ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Can't use Live CDs/DVDs to try Linux ?

I'm curious about Linux, but don't want to actually install it, so I thought that a Live CD would be the perfect answer.
    Wrong.
    Live CDs/DVDs do not work on my system, and as a newbie, I'm not sure why. I have tried all the major LiveCD/DVD releases, hoping one will work. Suse 10's DVD almost did, but in the end I got the same result I've had from every other Live offering...during the kernal loading process, it completely restarts my computer. Were I not there to eject the discs, they would continue on forever, or at the least, until I didn't pay my power bill.
    Error codes or warning signs never appear, the system just reboots completely. As the different distros sometimes have boot options, I've tried "safe" (etc) hoping that would help, but nothing does.

My system must be at fault, at least, that's my assumption. You folks know what to look for, what could I and/or my system be doing wrong?

It's a Compaq SR1234NX:
    2.80 gigahertz Intel Pentium 4
    8 kilobyte primary memory cache
    512 kilobyte secondary memory cache

Board: MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD Gamila/Giovani/Neon series 030
    Bus Clock: 100 megahertz
    BIOS: Phoenix Technologies, LTD 3.11 05/17/2004

1024 Megabytes Installed Memory

Any other details I can give to help?

Thanks in advance for any thoughts or suggestions. And if this has been covered before and I missed it in the search, I apologize.

Does this happen to be a laptop by chance? If it is, try disabling acpi as one of your boot options. When you first boot the CD, it should mention how to do this as it is different from live CD to live CD.

Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.