Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
For some reason now, firefox, as default has been opening with a window size that fills the whole screen vertically and almost horizontally. The settings got changed automatically somehow and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Enthusiast flipjargendy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Xanadu, Titan, Saturn
    Posts
    610

    Firefox setting annoyance...


    For some reason now, firefox, as default has been opening with a window size that fills the whole screen vertically and almost horizontally. The settings got changed automatically somehow and now i don't know how to get it to fill the whole screen when a firefox window is opened. Can anyone help?
    Running Linux Since 2001
    Registered Linux User #430868 - Since 91206

  2. #2
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    What window manager are you using? Is there not a "maximize" button on the top right of the window, usually in the middle of the "minimize" and "close" buttons?
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  3. #3
    Linux Enthusiast flipjargendy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Xanadu, Titan, Saturn
    Posts
    610
    i'm using KDE. Yes there is the 'minimize' 'maximize' and 'close' button. But it's very annoying to have to maximize it every time and then if a new window opens from a link it's about 25 px shorter then the screen.
    Running Linux Since 2001
    Registered Linux User #430868 - Since 91206

  4. #4
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    In my experience, Firefox remembers what size you make a window, but only after you close them. You're saying you open Firefox, resize the window, close it, and when you reopen it's set back to the smaller size again?
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  5. #5
    Linux Enthusiast flipjargendy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Xanadu, Titan, Saturn
    Posts
    610
    Correct. i've also had the same experience with it saving the size of the window but for some reason it's not saving that setting.
    Running Linux Since 2001
    Registered Linux User #430868 - Since 91206

  6. #6
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Quote Originally Posted by flipjargendy
    Correct. i've also had the same experience with it saving the size of the window but for some reason it's not saving that setting.
    If nothing else works, you can copy your firefox bookmarks to some other location and then delete the hidden /home/user/.mozilla/firefox folder (being sure Firefox is closed when you do it), then when you restart Firefox, you can move your bookmarks back to the usual location.

    You'll have to reconfigure Firefox, but maybe it'll work properly now.

    HTH

    ozar
    Last edited by oz; 02-02-2006 at 10:14 PM.
    oz

  7. #7
    Linux Enthusiast flipjargendy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Xanadu, Titan, Saturn
    Posts
    610

    Thumbs up

    How could i be so stupid! It worked!

    i looked through the ./mozilla/ file and looked at the firefox scripts but never thought of deleting it. Thanks for the help guys.
    Running Linux Since 2001
    Registered Linux User #430868 - Since 91206

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •