Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello, I'm completely new to Linux. I was wondering if anyone here could help with this bizzare situation I am in. I have been using Windows since the days of ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

An interesting series of roadblocks

Hello, I'm completely new to Linux.
    I was wondering if anyone here could help with this bizzare situation I am in. I have been using Windows since the days of 486dx66 processors. and I have finally had it with the crashing and the wacky errors.

Before you get too far and go "oh! this guy needs to get new disks!"
    I dont have a cd burner. I have available to me a 16x dvdrom (mine) that doesnt like burned CDs- and a 50x cdrom drive (girlfriend's).

I was going through my cd book and found an old distro of mandrake 9.1 my
    girlfriend burned she has all 3 disks. I figured "it's time". I want to dive in head first, so i wiped Windows completely and boot from the first disk it took HOURS to get thru the first file.

I decided to start over with the 50x cdrom. It was still having trouble but it was MUCH faster. All thru the install process I encountered stalling and eventually an message for the following packages that said "there was an error reading _______ would you like to continue?"

logrotate
    losetup

The messages increase in frequency, always one of those 2 packages. When the installation stage finally completes and everything seems ok (well except the 2 packages of course). I was able to set up my hardware with what at least seemed like complete success, it even listed some things more accurately than Windows ever did. It wants me to pop the disk out and reboot.

It begins to boot up and I notice a message that says press "I" to use an interactive bootup (which I later find doesnt work.) Now that I am typing this I cant remember what item on the checklist it freezes on, its about 8-10 items under the press "I" message.