Find the answer to your Linux question:
OK, this is probably a dumb question not even worth answering, but I have to ask. I will call myself a n00b, even though I have been running Linux as ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question Never mind which Distro, do I need a Distro???

OK, this is probably a dumb question not even worth answering, but I have to ask.

I will call myself a n00b, even though I have been running Linux as my primary OS for 2 years or more. But I am not a Linux guru like some people I have met.

Background: Started on SUSE 9.0, got irritated because it seemed like it was never updated and I had a devil of a time playing video files. switched to FC3. Tried to upgrade to FC4 but could never get the RedHat notification tool or SAMBA to work. Went back to FC3. Tried to upgrade to FC5 but it locked before it even gave me the option to install or update.

I am not running a standard FC kernel, I had to manually compile my kernel to get my Gigabit card to work.

hardware: Athlon 2800+ XP, 1 40GB HD, 4 120FB HDs set up with mirrored RAID with seperate partitions for my various data storage needs (home, MAME, etc) NVIDIA graphics card, ASUS MB)

My question: Do you have to use a Distro? I have only tired one flavor of SUSE and three flavors of Fedora, but it seems like nothing fits my needs. Can you start with a kernel veriosn, and then add the latest KDE and just run with it? Or do I need to pick a Distro and stick with it?

My main applications: Firefox (gotta have the TotalFark!) Thunderbird, Crossover Office (Gotta have the Quicken!) a versatile media player (currently using XINE with every codec I can find) and Krusader as my file manager.

Please. take pity on me and guide me!

Thanks!

Rick

Do you mean something like this: http://www.linuxfromscratch.org/?

oz
    forum.guy