Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
I am new to linux and I just completed a install for Mandrake Linux 9.1. It boots up, but it has a screen where you can select linux, dos, floppy ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    14

    Mandrake 9.1 first boot.


    I am new to linux and I just completed a install for Mandrake Linux 9.1. It boots up, but it has a screen where you can select linux, dos, floppy or something like that. I select linux whick is default. From there, it goes into some list thing that checks for new hardware and stuff, then shows this:
    Bringing up interface eth0 [failed]
    After that, it goes into some thing like bash and asks for login, then password. Once I login it has:
    [dsdeck@localhost dsdeck]$
    I am in a prompt.
    What is going on?
    Oh yeah for install, I used the text, not grafical.
    Thanx in advance.

  2. #2
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    347
    You have a Network Card in your computer (eth0), Linux is trying to get working whatever is connected to it... this might happen if say you have cable modem and you are connected to it through USB and have a Network Card in there and it will try to start it and get nothing... How are you connected to the internet?

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    14
    I have a ethernet card but nothing hooked up yet.

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    766
    dont worry abotu the eth0 failure, its ur networks card, and AFAIK it will fail to start for any number of reasons, from no drivers detected, to not having an ip assigned. unless u are trying to set up a network i would ignore this for now.

    to get a graphical environment, which is more user friendly than text but ultimately slower, type Xtart select whatever interface u want, KDE or GNOME are probably good choices for beginners. if it says command not found, become root by typeign su and then entering ur roto password, then put in each of ur cds in turn and type
    Code:
    ls /mnt/cdrom/Mandrake/RPM*/Xtart*
    once u have located the package, type
    Code:
    rpm -Uvh /mnt/cdrom/Mandrake/...whatever the rest of it was
    u can press tab to complete filenames, this is useful for long filenames or if u are lazy like me u will use it for anythign longer than 2 characters.

    if it needs dependencies, copy the Xtart rpm to somewhere on ur hard drive (coz the dpendencie smight be otehr other cd's) /home/yourUser is a good place. then do the same sort of search things for each of the dependency files.

    if u had to copy things to ur hard drive do this once they are all there.
    Code:
    rpm -Uvh /home/yourUserName/*rpm
    chance are u will have yet mroe depencies to fill, repeat this until it installs.

    If u copied any files delete them now by typing
    Code:
    rm *rpm
    and then sayign y to all the ones u want to remove.

    now type exit to get back to your users login, and type Xtart again.

    feel free to screw with settings etc, in general, unless it asks u to become root/enter root password to do something, it will only screw your user if u kill it badly, then u jsut make a new one. so click everything and dont be afraid to change stuff to see what happens, this is probably the best way to learn stuff.

    if u have anythign in particular u want to do, just post back

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    14
    I still can't get it. It says it cannot find it. I looked through the folders to.
    Does it have to do with haveing a Award Software Plug And PLay Bios (1.0)?

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    14
    I typed "startx" and got this:

    Using authority file /home/dsdeck/ .Xauthority
    Writing authority file /home/dsdeck/ .Xauthority
    Using authority file /home/dsdeck/ .Xauthority
    Writing authority file /home/dsdeck/ .Xauthority

    execue failed for /etc/X11/X (erno 2)
    giving up.

    xinit: No such file or directory (errno 2): Unable to connect to X server
    xinit: No such process (errno 3): Server error.

    _______________________________
    Help!

  7. #7
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    That's weird... anyway, try running the following command and then try again.
    Code:
    ln -s $(which X) /etc/X11/X

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    14
    It says this now when I type startx:

    waiting for X server to begin accepting connections.
    ..
    ..
    ..
    ..
    ..
    ..
    ..
    ..
    ..
    ..

    After about a hour it sys this:
    giving up.
    xinit: No such file or directory (errno2): unable to connect to X server.
    Waiting for X server to shut down.
    Xinit: Server error



    What is this?

  9. #9
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    There seems to be something wrong with your X server. Check what happens if you just run "X". If it starts an X server, press Ctrl+Alt+Backspace to make it exit.

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    14
    Do you mean just type "X"? I did that and nothing came up, it just kept on 'working' ever couple seconds.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •