Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
Hi I've been messing around with these mplayer installationRPM's and i can't find a way to make it install itself... (i dubbleclick the rpm icons , that's good is'nt it?) ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    23

    installing mplayer...


    Hi
    I've been messing around with these mplayer installationRPM's and i can't find a way to make it install itself... (i dubbleclick the rpm icons , that's good is'nt it?)
    I've been searching the whole internet to find out what it is i'm doing wrong...
    and till now i still don't know how...
    please, would someone try and explain what i have to do?

    when i dubble click the rpm icon, some window pops up and says something like "preparing system update" and a loadbar and it shuts down


  2. #2
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    254

    Re: installing mplayer...

    Quote Originally Posted by thomasd1
    Hi
    I've been messing around with these mplayer installationRPM's and i can't find a way to make it install itself... (i dubbleclick the rpm icons , that's good is'nt it?)
    I've been searching the whole internet to find out what it is i'm doing wrong...
    and till now i still don't know how...
    please, would someone try and explain what i have to do?
    U might open a console and just type man urpmi and man rpm to find out how the package management works. Then u'll be able to install whatever software u want
    Btw if u got mdk u could install that graphically in the mdk control center (I don't know about redhat )

  3. #3
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    I'm sorry to tell you, but RedHat's GUI RPM installer is terribly broken. I suggest that you use the command-line approach instead. The main difference is that the latter works...

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    14
    wich commands do i havto use in the terminal then?

  6. #5
    Linux Engineer kriss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,113
    rpm -Uvh file.rpm

    Good luck

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    14
    and wich packages must i install then? (because u hear there are three 3 of them..., and with wich one must i start?)

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    14
    i found this on some site, ... i think this may be my problem
    Installation

    If you have installed APT and set it up to use the Grey Sector Repository, all you need to do is (as root):

    # apt-get install mplayer

    or

    # apt-get install mplayer-gui

    depending on which version you wish to install. You can install both, of course. APT will do the rest for you. If you don't want to use APT or simply wish to do things by hand, read on.
    this is the site where i got the mplayer rpm's from...
    http://greysector.rangers.eu.org/mplayer.html

    ow yeah Kriss,
    when i tried "rpm -Uvh file.rpm" on one of the files i got this:

    [root@d576455c root]# rpm -Uvh mplayer-common-1.0pre3-1.i386.rpm
    warning: mplayer-common-1.0pre3-1.i386.rpm: V3 DSA signature: NOKEY, key ID 75aa026a
    error: Failed dependencies:
    mplayer = 1.0pre3 is needed by mplayer-common-1.0pre3-1

  9. #8
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    That quote came from someone using APT, and APT is one of Debian's tools, so that's probably not for you.

    In any case, to solve this, specify all three packages after each other on the same command line.

  10. #9
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    357
    If you follow the link provided above, it has info on installing rpm's for RH.

    Here's the command

    Code:
    rpm -Uvh mplayer-common-0.90rc3-1.i386.rpm mplayer-gui-0.90rc3-1.i386.rpm mplayer-skin-default-1.6-3.noarch.rpm
    You will need to change the version numbers to match what you have.

    And it's worth going to the link to get the codec packs also.

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    14
    error: Failed dependencies:
    libmp3lame.so.0 is needed by mplayer-gui-1.0pre3-1

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •