Find the answer to your Linux question:
I've recently installed the basics of Fedora Core 1 onto an old 400MHz PC to use as a hardware firewall/router/proxy. The install I choose was the basic setup only and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Installing a graphic desktop

I've recently installed the basics of Fedora Core 1 onto an old 400MHz PC to use as a hardware firewall/router/proxy. The install I choose was the basic setup only and no graphical desktop was installed, I just have the old DOS prompt kind of thing. However, since I am completely new to Linux - I haven't got a clue about script commands etc and can't even get the thing to connect via my dial-up.

How do I go about adding the Xwindows desktop? I have a feeling that if I have a graphic desktop, at least I might start getting somewhere. I have the original 3 CD's from the latest distro but can you keep you answers simple, as Linux is still completely strange to me.

Linux Guru
    It's not completely easy to add packages to an installation from the shell, since you have to add all dependencies manually. When installing X and a desktop, there are many dependencies.

If you want to add X and a desktop, I would recommend that you install anew instead.

Just Joined!
    Hi - thanks for your advise... I've been trying for 2 months now to get a working Linux and I'm starting to lose faith in this o/s > it's just too hard, and I have over 20 years of experiance in computing. I might stick with that other o/s made by that money grabbing company from the US. At least I can get things to work on that...

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    as a possible work around, just to get you started.

The console way of connecting to the internet is by the
    Code:
    wvdial
    command.

As explained elsewhere in thiis forum, you can configure wvdial using the
    Code:
    wvdialconf