Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
Hi all, this is my second post in the forum and i hope there is someone who is willing to help me I installed Fedora Core 5 succesfully, I tried ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Saudi Arabia
    Posts
    12

    Unhappy Problem with "pirut" FC5


    Hi all,

    this is my second post in the forum and i hope there is someone who is willing to help me


    I installed Fedora Core 5 succesfully, I tried to open the Package manager (typed "pirut" in run Command and from it's shortcut ) but there was a problem with it .

    When I open it, after typing the root password, it just loads for a while ..
    Then it gives a message ("Unable to retrieve software information") ?!!!!
    I click on ok and it closes ..

    I tried to find a solution .. I unistalled it with the Terminal (hoping it is going to work) ..
    then Installed it (took the rpm from the install CD)
    But still the same error message

    It's been about a year since the first time I used Linux ..
    But Im still newbie because I used Linux for a while then left it ..
    but now Im using it again and willing to leave Windoze ...

    I dont know how to fix this problem, I had it a few weeks ago and Im trying and searching for a solution

    I dont know if I missed to configure something or if anyone had similar problem .. my distro and system information is in my sinature ..

    Thanx

  2. #2
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Saudi Arabia
    Posts
    12

    Smile

    Thank you antidrugue for replying fast ..

    I've seen the notes you gave me,

    But I actually have problem configuring proxy and user name for (yum and the Terminal)

    I replied in This Thread asking for how to configure the username and password,
    But unfornatunatly no one answered

    I think when this problem is solved, a lot of my other problems will be solved easily ..

    I hope you can help with that one .. !

    BTW,
    Isnt there a way to get pirut running properly again ?

    Thank you very much

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    I guess the best solution would be to configure the proxy globally, for the whole system:
    http://www.opensolaris.org/os/projec...#network-proxy

    In Gnome, it's Desktop --> Preferences --> Network Proxy
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Saudi Arabia
    Posts
    12

    prob. proxy/repositories

    Ok it seems it is better by now

    Q: in the Terminal if i can ping websites, Does this mean that proxy/usernae are working fine???

    Plus I have problems updating yum, in the Terminal as I try to update yum it gives me :
    [root@localhost admin]# yum update
    Loading "installonlyn" plugin
    Setting up Update Process
    Setting up repositories
    dries [1/8]
    http://ftp.belnet.be/packages/dries....ta/repomd.xml: [Errno 14] HTTP Error 407: Via:1.1 STUPROXY
    Proxy-Authenticate: NTLM
    Proxy-Authenticate: Basic realm="stuproxy.kfupm.edu.sa"
    Proxy-Authenticate: Kerberos
    Proxy-Authenticate: Negotiate
    Pragma: no-cache
    Cache-Control: no-cache
    Content-Type: text/html
    Content-Length: 2372
    Trying other mirror.
    http://apt.sw.be/dries/fedora/fc4/i3...ta/repomd.xml: [Errno 14] HTTP Error 407: Via:1.1 STUPROXY
    Proxy-Authenticate: NTLM
    Proxy-Authenticate: Basic realm="stuproxy.kfupm.edu.sa"
    Proxy-Authenticate: Kerberos
    Proxy-Authenticate: Negotiate
    Pragma: no-cache
    Cache-Control: no-cache
    Content-Type: text/html
    Content-Length: 2372
    Trying other mirror.
    Cannot open/read repomd.xml file for repository: dries
    failure: repodata/repomd.xml from dries: [Errno 256] No more mirrors to try.
    Error: failure: repodata/repomd.xml from dries: [Errno 256] No more mirrors to try.
    I dont know if this is because of the proxy/usr or because I have problems in the repositories ?

    (I think my repositpries are missed up)
    because i tried to add the repositories manualy (i go to the link & download the file, then ... )
    for example for i did:
    downloaded the file by wget
    then, using Terminal i did
    rpm --import RPM-GPG-KEY.txt
    because I couldnt get or import any file for yum in the terminal
    if i try: I get:
    [root@localhost admin]# wget http://www.fedorafaq.org/samples/yum.conf
    --05:59:42-- http://www.fedorafaq.org/samples/yum.conf
    => `yum.conf'
    Resolving sproxy1.kfupm.edu.sa... 10.139.0.55
    Connecting to sproxy1.kfupm.edu.sa|10.139.0.55|:80... connected.
    Proxy request sent, awaiting response... 407 Proxy Authentication Required ( The ISA Server requires authorization to fulfill the request. Access to the Web Proxy service is denied. )
    05:59:42 ERROR 407: Proxy Authentication Required ( The ISA Server requires authorization to fulfill the request. Access to the Web Proxy service is denied. ).
    as you told me I saved the proxy and user & pass name globally for the system


    Please tell me what is wrong with the above ?
    Is it still the prox/usr ?!!!!
    or because of the repositories ?!!!!

  7. #6
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Saudi Arabia
    Posts
    12

    connection with Terminal

    I configured proxy/user-pass globally for the system but Terminal doesnt have access to the internet

    I figured this because I tryed ftp in Terminal and it gave me:
    [root@localhost admin]# ftp ftp.dartmouth.edu
    ftp: connect: Connection timed out
    in firefox i could browse that page.

    That global configuration didnt work for me .. !!!!

    I need other way to make Terminal/yum access the internet

    Any ideas ..

  9. #8
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Saudi Arabia
    Posts
    12
    I tryed that several times, but it did NOT work .. !!

    Please dont just give me Links ..
    (for me it seems that you ignore all the information and outputs i give ?!!)


    Please I need a solution for my situation.

    Give me steps to follow .. or commands to check if i configured it correctly

    Thanx

  11. #10
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Ok, so editing the file /etc/yum.conf with your proxy information doesn't work?

    Code:
    # The proxy server - proxy server:port number
    proxy=http://mycache.mydomain.com:3128
    # The account details for yum connections
    proxy_username=yum-user
    proxy_password=qwerty
    with your own proxy information of course.

    You still get the same errors running YUM?

    Or you could try the solutions posted here:
    http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/sho...=&threadid=742

    I don't have a Fedora system myself, and don't have much experience using YUM, as I don't care much for it.


    Please give more details beside the usual "doesn't work".

    Are you able to ping in the terminal?

    Code:
    ping www.linuxforums.org
    ping 67.15.52.42
    ?
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •