Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
My HDD has two partition and second partition is vfat, but i cant access it in user mode, but i can in root mode. partition is mounted, but i cant ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Estonia
    Posts
    10

    Problem entering vfat partition in user mode?


    My HDD has two partition and second partition is vfat, but i cant access it in user mode, but i can in root mode. partition is mounted, but i cant get into /mnt/windows catalogue in user mode. ?? what could be wrong?

    and when i try to change permissions to that catalogue in root mode, it just wont do anything?
    Please help

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    93
    did you you have the user option on fstab?
    did you change the dir's permissions? try: chmod 777 /mnt/windows

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Estonia
    Posts
    10
    a newer mind I found a similar post in the forum.

    anyways chmod777/mnt/windows cant work because it just dont...i have to change permission on mount.

    anyways thanx for such a quick answer

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Estonia
    Posts
    10
    ammm i kind a rushed into it
    still need some help how to change permission on /mnt/windows

    i checkd uid, gid and umask, but still cant figure out how to make it happen
    can someone please check how exactly it is done. Im using mandrake 9.2, but i dont think it matters that much.

  6. #5
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    289
    why don't you post your /etc/fstab file for everyone to see and give you the right advice.

    as for me i mount a fat partition on boot so that i won't have to mount it all the time. i think i asked a question like this before. just add this line to your fstab file:

    /dev/hda* /** vfat defaults,umask=000 0 0

    where * is the partition number
    and ** is the path of the directory where you want it mounted.

    this should make your user account even be able to write to it, and not just view it. so you could maybe try this out.
    Registered User #345074

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Estonia
    Posts
    10
    /dev/hda5 / ext2 defaults 1 1
    none /dev/pts devpts mode=0620 0 0
    none /mnt/cdrom supermount dev=/dev/scd0,fs=udf:iso9660,ro,--,iocharset=iso8859-15 0 0
    none /mnt/floppy supermount dev=/dev/fd0,fs=ext2:vfat,--,iocharset=iso8859-15,codepage=850,sync 0 0
    /dev/hda6 /mnt/windows vfat iocharset=iso8859-15,codepage=850 0 0
    none /proc proc defaults 0 0
    /dev/hda1 swap swap defaults 0 0
    /dev/hda6 /mnt/windows vfat defaults,umask=000 0 0

    i added your given last line but still no effect. I cant get into a /mnt/windows catalogue, what is my mount point to my other partition. In root mode i can get into it, but in user mode still cant open it.....access denied.....i dont have permissin to access in user mode.

    Please can anyone else think of something that could work??

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    93
    I think you can't have 2 lines in fstab refering to the same /dev/hd*

    You have:

    /dev/hda6 /mnt/windows vfat iocharset=iso8859-15,codepage=850 0 0

    and

    /dev/hda6 /mnt/windows vfat defaults,umask=000 0 0

    My sugestion:
    - erase the line you wrote,
    - and modify the other one to:
    /dev/hda6 /mnt/windows vfat user,iocharset=iso8859-15,codepage=850 0 0

    i think that it'll work

  9. #8
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    I think xylex_blaiste's modification should have worked. antti19, after you mounted the partition with his line, could you check what "stat /mnt/windows" returns and post that here?

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Estonia
    Posts
    10
    oh yeah....thank you thank you thank you all
    damn i was kind a losing hope already heh

    yup you were right it did work just fine

    thanx once more

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •