Find the answer to your Linux question:
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------- When I install the driver I get a message saying that it can't find the kernel. I am presuming it is talking about a nvidia kernel as I have ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Smile NEWBIE - I have recently installed Fedora 5 - having troubles install NVIDIA drivers!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

When I install the driver I get a message saying that it can't find the kernel. I am presuming it is talking about a nvidia kernel as I have checked that the main kernel for the system has been install from the DVD I downloaded fedora core 5 from. Any ideas on what I have to do? The nvidia installer thingy tries to build a kernel but then it goes pear shaped and says I need to download a kernel. As I am a newbie I forgot to write down exactly what it says - whoops - should I try it again? I am in INIT 3 when I try to install the driver by the way... Any help would be greatly appreciated! Also, I have downloaded the latest drivers.

Quote Originally Posted by nickos99
    When I install the driver I get a message saying that it can't find the kernel. I am presuming it is talking about a nvidia kernel as I have checked that the main kernel for the system has been install from the DVD I downloaded fedora core 5 from. Any ideas on what I have to do?
    Its not that it can't find your Linux kernel, its that it can't find the "right" Linux kernel on your system. You'll need to install the nvidia driver that matches the kernel version you are currently using. The easiest (but not necessarily the most elegant) way for you to do this would be the following: