Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Egy
    Posts
    38

    Jakarta Tomcat and Linux RH 8.0


    Hello i need to ask a small question and anyone please try to help ?
    I already installed Jakarta-Tomcat-4.0 on linux Redhat 8.0 which i think has a builtin java (gcj) .. nevermind i installed jdk1.2.2 which as i think supported by jakarta-tomcat-4.0 and i already exported the JAVA_HOME
    to the location wehere jdk is ...
    export JAVA_HOME=/usr/local/jdk1.2.2
    and also i exported the JAVA_HOME to the PATH
    export PATH=$JAVA_HOME/bin:$PATH
    i think that's enough to run tomcat .. anyhow to be sure i already exported the CLASSPATH
    export CLASSPATH=/usr/local/jdk1.2.2/lib/tools.jar
    so after all of that .. when i run /
    ./catalina.sh i get an exception from java ... java.lang.NoClassFound...
    so what is wrong at the time that .. what i done it was the same on windows Me and i already started tomcat and localhost:8080
    can anyone help

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Have you install the JRE as well? The JDK is the Java Development Kit (compiler, etc.), while the JRE is the Runtime Environment (include the VM, not least).

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Egy
    Posts
    38

    jakarta reply

    i have a folder called jre inide the jdk1.2.2 and i already exported the CLASSPATH isn't it enough and also .. the jsdk2.1 server.jar and servlet.jar.... what else and if not all of that so how then i can set the JRE and the VM

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    That NoClassFound exception, what class is it that it can't find?

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Egy
    Posts
    38

    reply

    javax. .... if it's the case what lets tomcat works on windowsMe and i already didn't set any JRE or any Javax....? may i know

  7. #6
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Did you install the J2EE stuff? I'm fairly sure that you need J2EE in addition to J2SE to get the Java server stuff.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Egy
    Posts
    38

    reply

    i have J2sdk1.2.2 that's all and i used it on windows and the tomcat works
    what i have also jsdk2.1 tell what i can do ..so tell me more what i can do with available these tools and also i have Jakarta servlet API

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Egy
    Posts
    38

    Tomcat again with Linux

    This the error i got
    .. when i run /
    ./catalina.sh run i get an exception from java ... java.lang.NoClassFound...

    /*Exception during startup processing
    java.lang.reflect.InvocationTargetException: java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: org/xml/sax/HandlerBase
    at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass0(Native Method)
    at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(ClassLoader.java :471)
    at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(Secure ClassLoader.java:103)
    at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(URLClassLoader .java:242)
    at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$1(URLClassLoader.ja va:210)
    at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java: 191)
    at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
    at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.j ava:185)
    at org.apache.catalina.loader.StandardClassLoader.fin dClass(StandardClassLoader.java:674)
    at org.apache.catalina.loader.StandardClassLoader.loa dClass(StandardClassLoader.java:1093)
    at org.apache.catalina.loader.StandardClassLoader.loa dClass(StandardClassLoader.java:992)
    at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClassInternal(ClassLoade r.java:30
    at org.apache.catalina.startup.Catalina.stop(Catalina .java:819)
    at org.apache.catalina.startup.Catalina.execute(Catal ina.java:683)
    at org.apache.catalina.startup.Catalina.process(Catal ina.java:179)
    at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Native Method)
    at org.apache.catalina.startup.Bootstrap.main(Bootstr ap.java:243)

    This is always when i run ./catalina.sh run or ./shutdown.sh
    But when ./startup.sh nothing happend more than
    /*$CATALINA_HOME/bin/startup.sh
    /usr/jakarta-tomcat/bin/catalina.sh: line 75: /var/www/ccm-core-cms/conf/tomcat-env.sh: No such file or directory
    Using CATALINA_BASE: /usr/jakarta-tomcat
    Using CATALINA_HOME: /usr/jakarta-tomcat
    Using CATALINA_TMPDIR: /usr/jakarta-tomcat/temp
    Using JAVA_HOME: /usr/local/jdk1.2.2
    [root@localhost root]#

    and when i open Konqueror browser to browse whatever http://localhost.com:8080
    or locahost:8080 nothing ... can'treach this host on port 8080 and i always checked the port 8080 to see what's wrong

    so what is wrong at the time that .. what i done it was the same on windows Me and i already started tomcat on localhost:8080 even without setting the CLASSPATH enviroment variable
    can you help
    Please sorry to always load

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •