Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
hi i have an iso file and i have rar installed i think in windows rar opens iso files but here it says that it is not a rar file ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    22

    iso files


    hi i have an iso file
    and i have rar installed i think in windows rar opens iso files
    but here it says that it is not a rar file and there for it does not extract it
    how can i open an iso file in linux?
    thanks

  2. #2
    Linux Guru sdousley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,790
    What do you need to open an iso file for? If your trying to put it onto CD, just put the iso file on CD, and the CD-Writing software will not put the iso file on, but certain files! The iso is a CD Image file usually.

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer big_k105's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Fargo, ND
    Posts
    901
    what you have to do is mount the iso file to a directory and it will show you everything that is in the iso.

    Code:
     mount -t iso9660 -o loop file.iso /dir/to/mount/iso/to
    hope this helps
    BIG K aka Kyle
    Programming Forums
    www.kylekonline.com
    Please don\'t PM me for help-- ask in the forums instead!

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    22

    iso file

    hi thanks for the fast reply
    the iso is 3.5 Giga so i can't put it into a CD-rom
    i tried
    mount -t iso9660 -o loop old.iso /mnt/Z
    but it says
    mount: Not a directory
    what am i doing wrong?
    by the way the file has all the permissions read write and execute

  5. #5
    Linux Engineer kriss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,113
    Is the directory /mnt/Z there? Because you need to have it in order to mount anything up on it..

    Good luck

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    22

    iso file

    yes the directory is there
    i even gave the directory all the permissions i don't know
    if this matter in any way.
    i am on root not on my user
    and it still says that
    when i try to mount to a directory that is not there i get
    mount: mount point /mnt/notthere does not exist
    but my error is
    mount: Not a directory
    i don't know what that means

  7. #7
    Linux Enthusiast scientica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    South- or "Mid-" Sweden
    Posts
    742
    You must mount the image to an existing empty directory, so to mount it as /mnt/the_iso do:
    Code:
    mkdir /mnt/the_iso # to create the directory, you only need to do this once
    mount -t iso9660 -o loop file.iso # substitute file.iso for the iso's path + name
    Regards Scienitca (registered user #335819 - http://counter.li.org )
    --
    A master is nothing more than a student who knows something of which he can teach to other students.

  8. #8
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    766
    Code:
    mount -t iso9660 -o loop /path/to/file.iso /mnt/iso_dir
    unlessu are workign in the directory containg the iso u need to specify the path to it.

  9. #9
    Linux Engineer big_k105's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Fargo, ND
    Posts
    901
    you have to be in root account to mount an iso i believe so try suing into your root account and then running the mount command above, hope this help
    BIG K aka Kyle
    Programming Forums
    www.kylekonline.com
    Please don\'t PM me for help-- ask in the forums instead!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •