Find the answer to your Linux question:
Sorry total newbie here! I have just installed Red Hat on a secondary hard drive, I was worried about my Windows instalation , so I just unplugged that drive, put ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Have i made a mistake!

Sorry total newbie here! I have just installed Red Hat on a secondary hard drive, I was worried about my Windows instalation , so I just unplugged that drive, put in the spare one and installed linux, my question is how do I now get the choice to pick what operating system I want to load? Have I messed up by not letting linux know there was another drive? Sorry if this has been asked before!

Linux Engineer
    linux installations are generaly very good at not destroying windows installations (unlike windows destroying linux installations) so really you would have been better off leaving the disk plugged uin as redhat can configure it automaticaly. what filesystem is in use on the windows disk? do or ntfs? you can easily add a few lines to grub.conf that will allow you to boot to windows.

heer is a good example grub.conf:

Code:
    # Which listing to boot as default. 0 is the first, 1 the second etc.
    default 0
    # How many seconds to wait before the default listing is booted.
    timeout 30
    # Nice, fat splash-image to spice things up :)
    splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=redhat Linux
    # Partition where the kernel image (or operating system) is located
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel (hd0,0)/kernel-2.4.22 root=/dev/hda3

# The next three lines are only if you dualboot with a Windows system.
    # In this case, Windows is hosted on /dev/hda6.
    title=Windows XP
    root (hd0,5)
    chainloader +1

Just Joined!
    Windows file system is NTFS, sorry not sure how to add the command lines!, Would I set my linux drive to be the master or slave? Cheers!

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close