Find the answer to your Linux question:
I used the Distro Chooser and was suggested Kubuntu, Ubuntu, and Mandriva as perfect matches along with Fedora, MEPIS, and PCLinuxOS which all failed the criteriun "I have never used ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question Choosing a Distro, Live CD help, Newbie Questions

I used the Distro Chooser and was suggested Kubuntu, Ubuntu, and Mandriva as perfect matches along with Fedora, MEPIS, and PCLinuxOS which all failed the criteriun "I have never used Linux before."

I would like to use Live CDs to see which distro I want to use. I will be dual booting with Windows XP. I am using an IBM Thinkpad A30, 2.0 GHz Intel Pentium something or other, 512MB RAM. I found this for installing Kubuntu.

I made a Live CD of Kubuntu and tried to boot from it. I heard the CD drive whirring but it failed and ended up booting XP. I did not follow the thinkwiki.org instructions, I followed the instructions from Kubuntu's website. I did not do the Checksum thing because I didn't understand that. If I need to edit my BIOS, I don't know how to do so.

Will my USB devices such as iPod, external hard drive, Bluetooth mouse, etc. still work with Linux?

Quote Originally Posted by IMustBeEmo
    I would like to use Live CDs to see which distro I want to use. I will be dual booting with Windows XP.
    check this link...
    www.distrowatch.com
    you download iso image of live cds and burn it... this is site for download...
    http://www.frozentech.com/content/livecd.php

If I need to edit my BIOS, I don't know how to do so.
    when you switch on laptop.. look at message "....." to enter setup
    "****" it can be Esc, F1, Del, Ctrl+S etc....
    after entring BIOS... look for Boot Up sequence...
    First Boot --- CDROM
    Second Boot --- Hard Disk etc etc... this might be a bit different from machine to machine....