Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Hi, i am new to Linux. i have install VNC server to my new FC5. i have to manually start vnc server each time after reboot. can someone pls enlighten ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    3

    Auto start VNC on FedoraCore 5 boot


    Hi,

    i am new to Linux. i have install VNC server to my new FC5. i have to manually start vnc server each time after reboot.

    can someone pls enlighten me on how to make VNC server auto start as FC5 boot?

    i need VNC to boot by login windows (so that i can login as different user from windows)

    thanks for your helps.

    Regards.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    I guess you can autostart it by making an entry for it in the file /etc/rc.local.
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by antidrugue
    I guess you can autostart it by making an entry for it in the file /etc/rc.local.
    Hi,

    i have tried insert "vncserver" into it but it only start vnc after someone login...

    but i need it to be up by login screen so that i can view the login screen and perform login...

    can you kindly spare me a sample script to do that?

    thanks.

  4. #4
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    You should be able to configure that in the file /etc/sysconfig/vncservers as well.
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  5. #5
    Linux Enthusiast KenJackson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    510
    To get it to start on Mandriva (I think FC5 is similar) I put this line in the, as mentioned, /etc/sysconfig/vncservers:
    VNCSERVERS="8:ken"

    And this command sets up the needed symbolic links under the subdirectories of /etc/rc.d:
    # chkconfig --add vncserver

    I chose to specify X server #8, so on the remote machine (or even on the local) I specifiy myhost:8 on the command line to connect.

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by KenJackson
    To get it to start on Mandriva (I think FC5 is similar) I put this line in the, as mentioned, /etc/sysconfig/vncservers:
    VNCSERVERS="8:ken"

    And this command sets up the needed symbolic links under the subdirectories of /etc/rc.d:
    # chkconfig --add vncserver

    I chose to specify X server #8, so on the remote machine (or even on the local) I specifiy myhost:8 on the command line to connect.
    Hi,

    what is the fucntion of "ken" ? izzit a specific user? can i leave it blank ?

    what is #8? user number 8 or screen number 8?

    Can vnc server start like Remote administrator which allow user to see login screen to choose who to sign in as?

    can vnc server work just like ftp, telnet or http which do not require login to activate or start?

    pls help

    thanks.

  7. #7
    Linux Enthusiast KenJackson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    510
    Oh, sorry. "ken" is my username on that machine. You would use yours. You have to assign a username to each vncserver. It's like a detatched desktop, and desktops are always associated with a particular user.

    The number 8 is the X display number. By default, the physical terminal is assigned 0, so I guess usually you would start with 1 in vncservers, but I used 8 for some reason. I don't think it matters what number you use, though there is surely some upper limit.

    Can vnc server start like Remote administrator which allow user to see login screen to choose who to sign in as?
    I'm don't know. But if you just run 'vncviewer' with no arguments, you get a tiny window prompting you for a VNC server. So you can type in 'homepc:1' for X display number 1 on the host named 'homepc'.

    can vnc server work just like ftp, telnet or http which do not require login to activate or start?
    Oh, I forgot another detail. You must have a file ~/.vnc/passwd with mode 0600, which is used for authentication. Create it with the 'vncpasswd' command. I think you can create it with an empty password, which would allow password-less login (maybe a bad idea).

    But here's what I do that is even better. Create the passwd file on the host I will be logging into (assume it's 'homepc'). Then copy it securely to the remote PC I'll be logging from, but name it ~/.vnc/passwd_homepc or something. Then create this script:
    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    exec vncviewer -passwd ~/.vnc/passwd_homepc homepc:1
    Then just run the script or call it from a menu to have your remote desktop popup. Another user can't use it unless he can log in as you (since the local password file is 0600), so it's not really a password-less login.

    Of course this assumes you can reach homepc across a VPN or local ethernet or something.

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    20
    In Slackware there is no /etc/sysconfig/vncservers, what should I do there?


    Thank you.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •