Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
When i log in as a standart user and be root with Code: su - i cant execute the graphical applications. Couldnt find GTK:..... is it a Slackware default conf. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Istanbul/Türkiye
    Posts
    246

    slackware,su - can't start GTK


    When i log in as a standart user and be root with
    Code:
    su -
    i cant execute the graphical applications.

    Couldnt find GTK:.....

    is it a Slackware default conf. or is there a problem with me?
    Just a Newbie....Looking 4 Info....

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,284
    is that the whole/exact error message?

    what type of applications are you trying to run?

    does it work as a normal user?

    Do you all ready have a gui started & running, and your in a termial window, or do you only have "command line mode" available on your machine?

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Istanbul/Türkiye
    Posts
    246
    I have GUI starting.As a normal user the applications working properly..
    But as i said before when i becaem root with su - , those applications dont work.

    i.e kedit?
    Just a Newbie....Looking 4 Info....

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie zdawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    218
    Try this: in terminal
    Code:
     xhost+localhost

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Istanbul/Türkiye
    Posts
    246
    Complete error is:

    Can not connect to X server or
    Can not open display

    zdawg for xhost:
    can not connect x server..

    what do you mean with localhost or xhost+localhost?
    Just a Newbie....Looking 4 Info....

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer Nerderello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,190
    I think that zdwag is suggesting that you type something like
    Code:
    xhost localhost
    where the "localhost would be replaced by the name that you've given to your own PC. As it happens, as I'm to lazy to bother thinking of a name for my PC, it defaulted to the name "localhost", so when I entered the command, I got :-
    Code:
    [nerderello@localhost nerderello]$ xhost localhost
    localhost being added to access control list
    have fun

    Nerderello

    Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS

  7. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Istanbul/Türkiye
    Posts
    246
    I tried it but for "xhost" it said can not connect x server. anyway we found the solution:

    instead of su -
    i use kdesu..

    for slackware it must be done like that..

    thx.
    Just a Newbie....Looking 4 Info....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •