Find the answer to your Linux question:
Just as a pre-caution i'm new to linux therefore do not know much about it. I downloaded Mandrake 9.2 and installed it ... works fine ... These are the three ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Mandrake 9.2 question

Just as a pre-caution i'm new to linux therefore do not know much about it.

I downloaded Mandrake 9.2 and installed it ... works fine ...
    These are the three files that i downloaded Mandrake92-CD1-INST.i586.iso, Mandrake92-CD1-ext.i586.iso and Mandrake92-CD3-i18.i586.iso

Now i installed through CD1 and it all works, but have no idea what the other 2 cd are for ... and there is also MandrakeMove ... can someone explain me what these other files are for please...

I read somewhere briefly that these files include extra applications to be run with linux, if that's the case how go about installing them? all the files are .iso ... can i install it once linux is booted and running, or would i have to boot my comp from these cds and install it that way?

Any help would be appreciated, and sorry if this has been asked before!

PS Mandrake 9.2 is looking good so far, i like it, i just have lots more to learn

Linux Guru

Re: Mandrake 9.2 question

Quote Originally Posted by Norbi
    Just as a pre-caution i'm new to linux therefore do not know much about it.

I downloaded Mandrake 9.2 and installed it ... works fine ...
    These are the three files that i downloaded Mandrake92-CD1-INST.i586.iso, Mandrake92-CD1-ext.i586.iso and Mandrake92-CD3-i18.i586.iso

Now i installed through CD1 and it all works, but have no idea what the other 2 cd are for ... and there is also MandrakeMove ... can someone explain me what these other files are for please...