Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
HI..., I m using a P III with 64 mb ram ..and hav 8 GB harddisk with 4mb Agp card.i hav installed Redhat 9.0 with GUI (GNOME).The Start up is ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    21

    LINUX STARTUP IS SO SLOW?


    HI...,
    I m using a P III with 64 mb ram ..and hav 8 GB harddisk with 4mb Agp card.i hav installed Redhat 9.0 with GUI (GNOME).The Start up is so slow.its taking a lot of time to start.and even after it started the programs are slagging to run in my system..why is it..?
    Freakrz

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie zdawg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    218
    64Mb and RH9+Gnome = slow.
    What's with the caps?
    Me & Myself just ganged up on I....... Now We all have problems..and none of Us are speaking!
    bash-3.00$ uname -a
    SunOS sparky 5.11 OpenSolaris-swa sun4u sparc SUNW,Ultra-Enterprise

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Posts
    6
    I would upgrade your RAM if you want it to be faster .

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    1,319
    It's defintely the RAM. I'd also suggest that you turn off kudzu (which I believe is by default in RH9). The RAM should be upgraded to no less than 256MB in my opinion.
    The best things in life are free.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    21

    Overclocking Processor ...?

    Thanx..dude.. i ll definitely upgrade the ram to 256 MB..would it be faster if the tweak the processor a little ..by overclocking..now would that increase my speed...how do i configure the start up in linux..like in window we can just edit the startup by configuring "msconfig".should i check the "services" option for that?Is there some kind of tool where i can have a selective start up..can u tell me which services are not necessary in the start up.coz i m not connected to any network kinda stuff..i use it just for programming purpose..
    Freakrz

  7. #6
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Cardiff, Wales
    Posts
    478

    startup speeds

    watch the montir when you're booting and see if anythings taking ages to become active or is failing.

    the easiest option is never to turn it off.
    No trees were harmed during the creation of this message. Its made from a blend of elephant tusk and dolphin meat.

  8. #7
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    357
    This is from RedHat http://www.redhat.com/docs/manuals/l...ase-notes/x86/

    Memory:

    - Minimum for text-mode: 64MB

    - Minimum for graphical: 128MB

    - Recommended for graphical: 192MB
    I think there is a common misconception in what it takes to run Linux. You always hear about people using old machines to run web servers and such, but what you donít really hear is that itís without a GUI. Most, if not all of the GUIís a memory hogs, just like Windows, and they will take some resources to run at an acceptable level.

    Your machine would make a nice router, firewall, small web server, etc, but as it is itís never going to run a GUI very well.

  9. #8
    Linux Engineer Giro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,219
    Gnome is less off a resorse hog then KDE but i would not run any kind of WM like them with less then 256Mb RAMmtry iceWM or Fluxbox it would just be frustrating to use Gnome or KDE. And yes you can run servers that dont get much access on a 486 my firewall is all it has to do is manage the que, check the packets and log.

  10. #9
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    India
    Posts
    132

    Re: Overclocking Processor ...?

    Quote Originally Posted by freakrz
    Thanx..dude.. i ll definitely upgrade the ram to 256 MB..would it be faster if the tweak the processor a little ..by overclocking..now would that increase my speed...how do i configure the start up in linux..like in window we can just edit the startup by configuring "msconfig".should i check the "services" option for that?Is there some kind of tool where i can have a selective start up..can u tell me which services are not necessary in the start up.coz i m not connected to any network kinda stuff..i use it just for programming purpose..
    Freakrz
    Overclocking wont help a bit in your case.
    try "ntsysv --level 5" for you as msconfig in win
    You are the one Linux!

  11. #10
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Istanbul/TŁrkiye
    Posts
    246
    I absolutely agree that your main problem is RAM. Forget about overclocking.it does not work as you think..
    I use Slackware 9.1 with KDE 3.1 and my conf. is

    PII 350 and
    160 MB RAM
    Just a Newbie....Looking 4 Info....

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •